Wiki Posts
Search

Ipad - netflix - surfeasy Vpn

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12, 2014, 6:47 pm
Suspended
Original Poster

Ipad - netflix - surfeasy Vpn

heading to Europe and just installed SurfEasy VPN on my iPad with hopes of being able to watch Netflix and Amazon prime movies. Have it set up to show that my IP address is in the USA.

While I understand the theory I've never done this before so wanted to confirm that it will work or if I should do something else before leaving.

Any have first hand insight?
Old Oct 12, 2014, 8:25 pm

Programs: QF WP (OWE) / LTG (LT OWS) | Hyatt Globalist
Originally Posted by QtownDave
heading to Europe and just installed SurfEasy VPN on my iPad with hopes of being able to watch Netflix and Amazon prime movies. Have it set up to show that my IP address is in the USA.

While I understand the theory I've never done this before so wanted to confirm that it will work or if I should do something else before leaving.

It should work.

That said, I much prefer unblock-us (a DNS solution) to VPN for such purposes as it works without the data/traffic overheads that VPN imposes.
Old Oct 13, 2014, 5:16 am
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines

It works fine. I use SurfEasy to connect to the UK Netflix/BBC iPlayer/SkyGo from all over the world.
Old Oct 13, 2014, 10:50 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Originally Posted by DYKWIA
It works fine. I use SurfEasy to connect to the UK Netflix/BBC iPlayer/SkyGo from all over the world.
Great, thanks. Anybody ever use it with hotel wifi? I'm wondering about the performance streaming movies.
Old Oct 13, 2014, 11:09 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Your hotel wifi will probably be the limiting factor.
Old Oct 13, 2014, 11:13 am
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines

Originally Posted by gfunkdave
Your hotel wifi will probably be the limiting factor.
Agreed... Although Netflix seems very good at extracting the most out of a limited bandwidth.
Old Oct 13, 2014, 11:29 am

Programs: DL PM/1MM, Marriott Gold
Originally Posted by SQ421