Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 2, 12, 11:26 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: GRU / SXB
Programs: FB Plat, CX Diamond, EK Gold, Amex Cent, R&C 5C, HH Diamond, SPG Gold, Morgans Global Card, Avis PC
Posts: 1,036
Pan-International prepaid SIMs

I don't know if these two options were already mentioned in this thread but they're worth checking out (particularly if you're not traveling alone or don't have an unlocked phone):

http://www.tepwireless.com

http://www.xcomglobal.com

Both of these services will send you a MiFi like (mobile hotspot) device before you leave home and you'll be able to connect to their device through wifi with up to 5 devices at the same time. It can come in handy! Tep Wireless has very competitive pricing. I haven't tried them out yet though...
fredsxb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 12, 12:49 am   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredsxb View Post
I don't know if these two options were already mentioned in this thread but they're worth checking out (particularly if you're not traveling alone or don't have an unlocked phone):

http://www.tepwireless.com

http://www.xcomglobal.com

Both of these services will send you a MiFi like (mobile hotspot) device before you leave home and you'll be able to connect to their device through wifi with up to 5 devices at the same time. It can come in handy! Tep Wireless has very competitive pricing. I haven't tried them out yet though...
These are rental devices. Could work if I was travelling randomly. I am not sure about these prices.

Here are more about solution I use http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/15/u...-10-sim-cards/
FrequentTraveller43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 12, 2:39 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio and Colorado
Programs: AA Gold MM, DL Gold, US MM, HH Gold, Starwood
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredsxb View Post
I don't know if these two options were already mentioned in this thread but they're worth checking out (particularly if you're not traveling alone or don't have an unlocked phone):

http://www.tepwireless.com

http://www.xcomglobal.com

Both of these services will send you a MiFi like (mobile hotspot) device before you leave home and you'll be able to connect to their device through wifi with up to 5 devices at the same time. It can come in handy! Tep Wireless has very competitive pricing. I haven't tried them out yet though...
Used Tep last year in London and it worked great. What I read about use in other countries is not good.

Cheers
__________________
I am an old man and have known a great many troubles, but most of them never happened. Mark Twain
X3Skier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 13, 12:36 pm   #4
TalkBoard Member, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1K, BAEC Silver, IC RA, and more!
Posts: 11,025
Toggle Mobile - Travel SIM

I was digging around the prepaid SIM thread and noticed a interesting SIM option that CelticFlyer posted about. It's called Toggle Mobile by Lycamobile. The concept is that you can get a local number in some countries and call in/out at local rates.


It's a prepaid UK SIM card with a UK number attached. When you travel to France, Germany, Spain, Australia, Switzerland, Netherlands, Poland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and Ireland you can get a local mobile number there (free for 30 days or 5GBP to keep for a year) and get local UK rates (free incoming, 3p/min outgoing SMS 9p and data 15p/MB) which is just excellent if your hopping around Europe. In addition there are plenty of free incoming countries.

They have currently on promo a free SIM so I ordered one and will give it a try. These rates are cheaper than my PL postpaid roaming rates are and are quite good rates incl the UK data packs.

the intl calling rates are even cheaper than other providers (3p/min to call the USA vs I believe 5p/min on Vodafone UK)



the only catch is that you need to make a call or send a SMS every 90 days to keep the number from expiring, so basically 1 SMS to my PL number every 3 months should do it. And you also need at least 10p to receive calls - even the free incoming. But besides those 2 points, it seems like a great travel sim incl in EU.


togglemobile.co.uk
__________________
jason8612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 13, 8:54 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC, AA, UA, BA, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,826
I also ordered their free sim and it arrived very quickly (after some emailing back and forth as to whether they would send it to Canada (they did) and if it would be okay not to activate it until I got to the UK later this year (it is).

As I mentioned in the earlier thread to which you've alluded, I'm a bit concerned about the information they ask for going to third party advertisers when you activate online, but I'm wondering from the insert included when the sim arrived, if you could just insert the sim and purchase a topup card at a retailer instead of online to buy credits, and then use the sim itself with the topup credit to complete the activation without going further. Let us know on here how the activation goes for you (online activation or just put in the credits from a topup card or voucher from a retailer and if that's all that is needed), and if you're satisfied with the call quality and service.

Thanks,

bj-21.
blackjack-21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 13, 6:09 am   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,870
Do they offer non-UK data packs?
Dubai Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 13, 10:16 am   #7
TalkBoard Member, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KRK / ORD
Programs: UA 1K, BAEC Silver, IC RA, and more!
Posts: 11,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubai Stu View Post
Do they offer non-UK data packs?
From what I could gather - no. They offer lower data in certain countries, but so far the best data roaming I found is the vodafone UK one. If your in Eu its 2GBP/day for 25MB and rest of the world 5GBP for 25MB. they also have some tablet version with 8GBP for 100MB in EU and 25GBP for 100MB (daily)

Toggle is some 15p/MB in the "local" countries which comes out to be 3.75GBP for 25MB
__________________
jason8612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 13, 6:32 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: JFK
Programs: DL Platinum, SPG Gold
Posts: 31
I have Toggle Mobile, ordered the SIM on Amazon US site. Worked great in Paris. I agree with the above that they need to offer data bundles for the other countries to become a really attractive service.

Also, regarding keeping account active, here are their terms from their site:

3.3 If you do not use your SIM Card to make a voice call, or send a message or data, or if you do not purchase a top-up using the Top-Up Services, for a period of ninety (90) days from the date you registered or activated your Account or your last use of the Services (whichever is later), Lycamobile will contact you by SMS or e-mail advising you that your SIM Card will be deactivated. Lycamobile will then provide you with an additional thirty (30) days to make a voice call, send a message or data, or purchase a top-up using the Top-Up Services.
R U? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 13, 2:08 am   #9
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BNE
Programs: QF,US,ANA
Posts: 245
Thaks for the info , I am off to the Europe in a few weeks , this is just what I need.
ianp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 13, 11:38 am   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: houston
Programs: UA Lifetime Platinum, 2MM since 1981, MAR Lifetime Plat, IHG Plat Amb. Global Entry
Posts: 560
Mine was free

I ordered my Toggle SIM free (with zero credit), directly from Toggle on February 6 and it arrived in Houston on February 13, just a weeks time. My understanding is I can activate/fund it anytime I am ready.

So, unless you are leaving immediately and will need Amazon overnight shipping, save the money and get it direct. Even better, order one right now while you are thinking about it and you will be ready for your trip. Press the "offers" button at the top of their webpage and the cards are free until February 17.
Platcomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 13, 3:35 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Programs: Flying Blue Gold and Virgin America for a few months
Posts: 507
Just ordered one , anyone use it in Belgium yet ? it does not seem to be one of the countries with local phone numbers ,

I assume it would be always roaming when I use it there , it would be mobile to mobile calls that I need

Any tips ?

I will also be in Holland , Germany and Italy

thanks for your help
__________________
no one said it would be easy......
soarer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 13, 11:29 am   #12
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England
Programs: HI Plat
Posts: 48
Just ordered one.
Does anyone know which network/networks they use in the UK?

They are part of Lycamobile, who I think use O2 for their "Lycamobile" brand SIMs.
So I would guess it's O2
Spud8o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 13, 6:54 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 5280/8150
Programs: Flying and sleeping
Posts: 340
Ordered Friday. I'm not sure if I'll use Toggle or someone else next month. They offer local numbers in both countries I'll be in, but no data packs outside of the UK is a bit of a deal-killer.
djrez4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 13, 5:13 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 565
They may launch their toggle mobile country data packs sometime in March 2013.

See the twitter conversation here:
https://twitter.com/alex_siracusa/st...53364319240192
freecia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 13, 8:13 pm   #15
fomerly known as LandingGear (not Landing Gear)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 227
Missed the free SIM. Now at least 15.
planes&trains is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:32 am.