Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 2, 11, 11:25 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA 1k, spg plat, hyatt diamond, aa gold
Posts: 1,891
lenovo g555 won't wake from sleep

Have spent hours with tech support (useless) and searched but can't find and answer. Running win 7 and after computer is asleep only way to restart is a reboot and get error message saying win didn't shut down normally, etc

Have already reset all available power saving options to never (turn off display, turn off hard drive, etc) per tech support. Still doesn't work.
estnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 11, 11:38 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: SEA
Programs: AS, HH, MR elite. Fly AS/DL/AA. Fmr UA Plat, now Silver, soon Dirt. Also B6, BA, WN, VX, Hyatt.
Posts: 14,880
Do you have a specific STOP:0x000000, etc. error message that comes up with the blue screen of death? The error message will suggest either a hardware or software failure.
__________________
United: lowest-ranked major airline in new Airline Quality Ratings, tied for last in JD Power rankings. You're doing a heckuva job, Jeffie.
BearX220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 12:26 am   #3
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA 1k, spg plat, hyatt diamond, aa gold
Posts: 1,891
No - I don't actually get the blue screen - after going to sleep the computer simply won't restart unless I push the power button and then I get the "windows did not stop normally.........

Each time it generates a *.dmp file (that can't be read) and two other files that appear to be info about the system.
The online windows "solution" problem reporting doesn't do anything - just says it needs more info
estnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 1:28 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA 1k, spg plat, hyatt diamond, aa gold
Posts: 1,891
This the the error message I can see:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 9f
BCP1: 00000003
BCP2: 85036AB0
BCP3: 82D6CAE0
BCP4: 85549008
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1
estnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 3:21 pm   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: SEA
Programs: AS, HH, MR elite. Fly AS/DL/AA. Fmr UA Plat, now Silver, soon Dirt. Also B6, BA, WN, VX, Hyatt.
Posts: 14,880
BCC Code 9F indicates a driver failure. Found this excerpt on the www.vistax64.com support forums (I know you're running 7, but still):

Bug Check 0x9F: DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE
The DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE bug check has a value of 0x0000009F. This indicates that the driver is in an inconsistent or invalid power state.

Its possible the driver or your system is not correctly detecting the power states of the device causing it to blue screen when it trys to suspend or shutdown, recommend a BIOS update from your motherboard maker and driver update for your system.


A lot of people have your problem. Google "blue screen error BCC 9F". Basically the wisdom is that one of your devices is outdated and needs a driver update. Some have corrected it with BIOS update as discussed above, some have sent their computers back to the manufacturer. In some cases even a total wipe doesn't solve the issue.

Also, check this out:

http://forums.techarena.in/vista-help/1116375.htm

It's a start anyway.
__________________
United: lowest-ranked major airline in new Airline Quality Ratings, tied for last in JD Power rankings. You're doing a heckuva job, Jeffie.
BearX220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 9:13 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA 1k, spg plat, hyatt diamond, aa gold
Posts: 1,891
Thanks so much - but no way to tell which driver is causing the problem? It's really frustrating b/c I JUST bought this about a month ago with win7 installed by them and I would have thought "old" problems wouldn't happen with a new computer
estnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 10:16 pm   #7
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: SEA
Programs: AS, HH, MR elite. Fly AS/DL/AA. Fmr UA Plat, now Silver, soon Dirt. Also B6, BA, WN, VX, Hyatt.
Posts: 14,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by estnet View Post
Thanks so much - but no way to tell which driver is causing the problem? It's really frustrating b/c I JUST bought this about a month ago with win7 installed by them and I would have thought "old" problems wouldn't happen with a new computer
Someone more adept than me might be able to tell which driver is kaput. I'm not a tech expert, just used to running down Win 7 errors. I have a Toshiba Satellite that is a real leaky ship, MSFT software-wise... I get these kernel page errors and mystery OS shutdowns that drive me crazy.
__________________
United: lowest-ranked major airline in new Airline Quality Ratings, tied for last in JD Power rankings. You're doing a heckuva job, Jeffie.
BearX220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 10:55 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: LAX/SAN/TOA(primary)/MYF
Programs: AS Mileage Plan,KE Morning Calm+ (ST E+),SPG Gold
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearX220 View Post
Someone more adept than me might be able to tell which driver is kaput. I'm not a tech expert, just used to running down Win 7 errors. I have a Toshiba Satellite that is a real leaky ship, MSFT software-wise... I get these kernel page errors and mystery OS shutdowns that drive me crazy.
Personally, I've had serious problems with sleep since the Pentium IIIM days...I've never had problems with hibernate though.
Anyway, I would start from updating the BIOS, then looking at the video drivers. Otherwise, I would just reinstall Windows...but by then is sleep that big of a deal?
__________________
Flegdling domestic traveler's flightmemory
If it ain't Boeing, I'm not going,long live Horizon Air?
bakedpatato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 11, 11:03 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA 1k, spg plat, hyatt diamond, aa gold
Posts: 1,891
Funny thing is it is the ONE thing I've never had a problem with on any of my (many) laptops. No problem with sleep or hibernate til now.

I'll live w/it if I have to b/c this is a BIG laptop and luckily my traveling netbooks "sleep" with no problem.
estnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 11, 9:06 am   #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: TPA
Programs: UA 2P
Posts: 7
Try backing up all of your data and reformatting the HD. Then, reinstall Windows (the computer should either have a recovery partition or it should have come with recovery CDs). That may fix the problem if some file got corrupted while in use. On top of that, your computer will run like new!
stationarytraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 3:54 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.