Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Technology
Sign in using an external account

Closed Thread

Old Jul 2, 10, 6:25 pm   #1

Buying a SIM card at a US airport?

I was wondering if I can buy a US SIM card at any of the following airports:

MIA, ATL, DFW, RDU (in that order)

I'd prefer one I can get a data plan with. Last time I researched this, only AT&T offered that option but that was a couple of years ago.

Any suggestions? I'm going to be in the above airports for about 24 hours and would love to get phone/internet access.

Thanks!
Old Jul 2, 10, 9:21 pm   #2
Moderator: TravelBuzz! & United MileagePlus

Programs: UA 1K/1.7MM; SPG Lifetime Plat; HY Plat.; HH Gold; Nat'l Executive.
Let me see if the readers of our Travel Technology forum can help. Ocn Vw 1K, Moderator, TravelBuzz.

Last edited by Ocn Vw 1K; Jul 3, 10 at 8:35 am. Reason: correct typo
Old Jul 2, 10, 9:55 pm   #3

This is my first time replying to a post here I am usually just a reader Anyway, unlike International countries US airports don't have wireless providers in airports. I work for a wireless company & have many International customers (not sure if your flying in Internationally) that look for SIM Cards @ the airport. T-Mobile & AT&T can provide you a SIM Card It's easier to activate a FlexPay Monthly Plan via the internet @ tmo.com & have the sim shipped to the US address you will be staying at. You can get unlimited talk, text & web @ tmo w/out a contract of course for 79.99+tax or if you don't need ulimited calls & text get a lower plan for less with unlimited web. Cancel the service before you leave the US & your done. Yes, I work for T-Mobile or you can have a friend, family member Activate the service for you & they can ship you the SIM Card I hope this helps.
Old Jul 2, 10, 9:57 pm   #4

If you are looking for a SIM card in the US you have two primary carriers to choice from AT&T and T-Mobile.

AT&T has better service and T-Mobile is cheaper.