Car hire insurance

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Car hire insurance

Search this Thread

Old Aug 18, 2015, 9:47 am
Original Poster

Programs: A3*G, LH FTL, VS Red, Avis Preferred, Hertz President's Circle, (RIP Diamond Club)
Car hire insurance

Can anyone (UK-based) recommend an insurance policy to cover car rental so that I don't have to take the insanely priced coverage offered by the rental companies?

I'm spending about GBP5-6k per year on car rental and it looks like around a third of that is insurance (my company dictates that we have to take full cover and excess waiver). I've found one or two insurance firms that offer CDW/LDW/Excess waiver for an apparently reasonable annual price.

https://www.icarhireinsurance.com/ca...-products.html

Is this a gimmick? Has anyone else gone down this route? I'd liek to know your experiences and which company you used.

PS: I really, really, really don't work for an insurance company or their advertisers. I'm a commercial scientist.
Old Aug 18, 2015, 10:37 am

Programs: BA-S UA LH-Sen KLM/AF-Plat.
Originally Posted by roberino
Can anyone (UK-based) recommend an insurance policy to cover car rental so that I don't have to take the insanely priced coverage offered by the rental companies?

I'm spending about GBP5-6k per year on car rental and it looks like around a third of that is insurance (my company dictates that we have to take full cover and excess waiver). I've found one or two insurance firms that offer CDW/LDW/Excess waiver for an apparently reasonable annual price.

https://www.icarhireinsurance.com/ca...-products.html

Is this a gimmick? Has anyone else gone down this route? I'd liek to know your experiences and which company you used.

PS: I really, really, really don't work for an insurance company or their advertisers. I'm a commercial scientist.