Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Products
Reload this Page >

Affordable Checkpoint Friendly Laptop Backpack

Old Jan 2, 2011, 12:38 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold

My old Dell backpack is developing a huge hole on it so I'm in the market for a new backpack. I've started looking into the whole checkpoint friendly backpack, and after a brief search of this forum, I've realized that pretty much all the reviews are from 1+ years ago and/or on ridiculously expensive backpacks.

Does anyone have any current recommendations on an affordable, decent looking checkpoint friendly backpack? As a student, I'm not looking to break the bank or anything. The two I've found so far are the Wenger Legacy and the Targus Zip-Thru Air Traveler. Any thoughts on those or others at that similar price point (<$50)?
Old Jan 2, 2011, 2:13 am

I'll let others weigh in on the backpack options. I just wanted to chime in that you might also want to consider a checkpoint friendly laptop sleeve which then lets you select from many more backpacks. I've used the http://www.sfbags.com/products/sleevecases/sleevecases.php for several years for this.

Waterfield is bulletproof, but not exactly inexpensive. Since you are trying to keep to a budget, I'd suggest looking for a less expensive option which leaves more money available for the backpack.
Old Jan 2, 2011, 8:11 am

I'll echo noam's comment. I've tried checkpoint friendly bags (a backpack and a messenger) and found there wasn't a lot of advantage. In both cases, the effort to open and layout the bag was as much as it is to pull my laptop sleeve out of my much lighter everyday bag.