Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 19, 12, 9:37 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: HH S
Posts: 543
FALSE Virus alert [there is NO malware on your computer]

For those just coming to this thread for the first time, I have taken the liberty of pre-pending IBobi's answer from downstream here. cblaisd, Senior Moderator:

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
Hi everyone,

Once again, there is *no* malware on FlyerTalk.

We are working to determine which advertisement is causing this messaging to occur.

This kind of advertising is *not* approved by FT, and will immediately be blocked when it is located. Meanwhile, be assured that despite the message it shows you, you do not have a virus (from this) and FT is not infected. This is an advertisement that appears to be exploiting a hole in *Internet Explorer* to show a *false* virus alert.

One way to avoid it is to switch browsers to Chrome or Firefox.

I'll update as soon as I have new information; thank you for your continued patience while we work to block this ad.

Paul
Twice in the last two days while using FT i have had a pop up appear. It is designed to make it look like MS security essentials notice.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y193/Braybuddy/MS.jpg

Last edited by cblaisd; Jul 26, 12 at 5:42 pm..
Polar Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 12, 10:14 pm   #2
 
Join Date: May 2003
Programs: AA (1MM)
Posts: 1,661
While I didn't get the specific virus alert that Polar Man mentions, I also noticed unusual virus alert messages while accessing FT the last couple of days, both on my home and work computers.
ExitRowAisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 7:48 am   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, IAD
Programs: Marriott Platinum, Mileage Plus 1K, smattering of points at Hilton, Delta, Choice, Best Western
Posts: 503
I, too, have gotten these alerts the past two days. Norton says

Category: Intrusion Prevention
7/20/2012 9:34 AM,High,An intrusion attempt by 173.254.192.44 was blocked.,Blocked,No Action Required,Fake App Attack: Fake AV Website
Michilander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 10:35 am   #4
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,044
I got them on FT website (only) for 2-3 days, with wording:

Quote:
Message from webpage

Viruses were found on your computer. You need to clean your computer to prevent the system crash. [OK]
When I tried to close the browser, I couldn't. Had to shut the computer down and restart.
SkeptiCallie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 11:51 am   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Programs: AA 2MM - UA 1P / Hyatt Diamond - SPG Plat / Hertz 5* - Avis 1st
Posts: 2,468
I am also getting the MSE look-alike virus warning, but only with IE, not chrome.
Wilbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 1:31 pm   #6
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,010
Thank you all, we're looking into this, but FT appears to be clean. No virus found at all.

If someone can post a screen shot, we'll look into whether this is ad-related, or some other possibility?

Thank you!

Paul
IBobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 2:09 pm   #7
Used to be Billxmeredith
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: HNL
Programs: UA 1K3MM, SPG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 517
I'll remember to grab a screenshot - but I've gotten this virus warning today on separate computers - it just seems to happen randomly but always on the flyertalk site.
HNLbasedFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 2:50 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,830
I got the pop up yesterday and this morning. I will try to grab a screenshot if I get it again. I wonder if it really came from a banner?
mcgahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 3:29 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Programs: BA Gold, IC RA, Diamond HGP
Posts: 3,452
+1 to Polar Man's experience.
TravellerFrequently is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 5:48 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, IAD
Programs: Marriott Platinum, Mileage Plus 1K, smattering of points at Hilton, Delta, Choice, Best Western
Posts: 503
I got a different pop-up than Polar Man got. If I get it again, I will post a screen shot.

I also only got this once yesterday and once today, despite numerous visits to FT. Have just assumed it was ad based. Did you check out the IP I posted earlier?
Michilander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 8:23 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 83
+1 to Polar Man
g-didi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 12, 8:29 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Programs: AA Gold
Posts: 1,109
I got the same message as Skepticallie yesterday. Had to into my task manager to shut it down.
wrp96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 3:05 am   #13
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Programs: # Neodymium #
Posts: 617
Just got the same.
Have emailed you, IBobi. - I have a screenshot I can send you.

Was going to http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/usercp.php, but the address bar changed, pop-up appeared and Norton antivirus blocked a Fake App attack...

Closed it all, and worked fine this time.
McCoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 10:02 am   #14
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: HH S
Posts: 543
here is the screen shot.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i1..._man/virus.jpg

If you click on the x to close the popup then the " microsoft" warning pops up on a blank screen.
Polar Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 11:03 am   #15
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MKE
Programs: DL-Diamond HH-Diamond
Posts: 3,127
I also received it, I looked at the address bar at the top and this is where it is coming from..but only when I come to flyertalk

http://guarantorqueerprocessinspecti...84cb2/pr2/196/
MR_MAMA is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.