Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Support and Feedback
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 21, 12, 1:24 pm   #16
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polar Man View Post
here is the screen shot.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i1..._man/virus.jpg

If you click on the x to close the popup then the " microsoft" warning pops up on a blank screen.
I've got the same thing in the last couple of days on different computers.
spd476 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 3:15 pm   #17
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,037
This last time, a few minutes ago, the address bar changed to:

[deleted, per ff post]

A Google search produced nothing for that entire string, though there is evidently an "onlinecleancustodian.pl" but with other numbers in the last part of the string, and even then only one hit on Google.

Last edited by SkeptiCallie; Jul 21, 12 at 5:06 pm.. Reason: to avoid clicking on it
SkeptiCallie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 5:03 pm   #18
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BWI, IAD
Programs: Marriott Platinum, Mileage Plus 1K, smattering of points at Hilton, Delta, Choice, Best Western
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkeptiCallie View Post
This last time, a few minutes ago, the address bar changed to:

http://onlinecleancustodian.pl/550r1...84cb2/pr2/196/

A Google search produced nothing for that entire string, though there is evidently an "onlinecleancustodian.pl" but with other numbers in the last part of the string, and even then only one hit on Google.
Just got another hit. Pop-up looked the same as the one Polar Man posted earlier today.

Norton reported

Category: Intrusion Prevention
An intrusion attempt by delivereravshield.pl was blocked.,Blocked,No Action Required,Fake App Attack: Fake AV Website 20,No Action Required,No Action Required,"delivereravshield.pl (96.44.155.85, 80)”

SkeptiCallie, clicking on the link you posted gets you another hit from the fake virus website. Maybe you could remove the hyperlink in the future? Thanks.
Michilander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 5:07 pm   #19
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michilander View Post
Just got another hit. Pop-up looked the same as the one Polar Man posted earlier today.

Norton reported

Category: Intrusion Prevention
An intrusion attempt by delivereravshield.pl was blocked.,Blocked,No Action Required,Fake App Attack: Fake AV Website 20,No Action Required,No Action Required,"delivereravshield.pl (96.44.155.85, 80)”

SkeptiCallie, clicking on the link you posted gets you another hit from the fake virus website. Maybe you could remove the hyperlink in the future? Thanks.
Thanks, glad to do so. I hadn't noticed that that was a hyperlink, just thought I was giving the address for IDing it. If mods need the link again, just PM me and I'll supply it to you. (Michelander, just to be thorough, could you also delete it in your quote of my post, and TIA.)
SkeptiCallie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 5:17 pm   #20
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,237
I got the same message earlier today as well as yesterday. But it didn't come as a small message box - rather it took over the entire FT page. When I x out, the whole browser window closes and I have to re-open the browser.

It certainly is annoying.
__________________
Flyingmama ....
Flyingmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 6:31 pm   #21
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Homosassa, FL -UA-1K; SPG-Gold
Posts: 5,505
I received the same message about 2 hours ago. I closed it and ran SuperAntiSpyware and it came up clean.
Vulcan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 8:36 pm   #22
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Denver CO
Programs: HHonors Gold, National Emerald Club, no airline affinity status
Posts: 999
I had similar notice when I have clicked on FT lately. It sets off my Norton saying they blocked an intrusion by "dangerdefenderdata.pl" at the IP address of 96.44.155.85, 80. I see that is the same IP address as previously posted but a different name.

I tried googling dangerdefenderdata.pl but doesn't bring up anything. I was able to trace the IP address to someplace in California.
__________________
Insert witty quote or website here ---->
HawaiiTrvlr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 9:27 pm   #23
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,078
Same experience as Vulcan. There's no virus of any kind on my machine, but they are somehow taking over and redirecting traffic from the FT site. Redirects the entire page away to a pseudo-virus message, wanting you to clean your computer (and no doubt buy their bogus anti-virus product).
__________________
There's a new sheriff in town.
Djlawman
Djlawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 11:21 pm   #24
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Programs: DL DM, MM
Posts: 130
I've been seeing the same problem for several days, only when I visit FT.
duluthDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 12, 11:35 pm   #25
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: PHX/BDO, Hyatt Plat, Hertz #1 Gold, AA Plat, DL Silver
Posts: 16,407
I don't get it in Safari or Chrome.
__________________
Heavens to Murgatroyd!
Jaimito Cartero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 12, 7:03 am   #26
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, Frontier Summit, Priorityclub Platinum, Hilton Diamond, Amtrak Points Whore
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by duluthDL View Post
I've been seeing the same problem for several days, only when I visit FT.
Me too, only on Flyertalk. Can browse for hours, the minute I come here it sticks on the virus warning. Only on PC, I'm using my iPad now with no problem.
Paddlenpedal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 12, 7:16 am   #27
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,237
Just happened again. Whatever the issue is, it hasn't been fixed.
__________________
Flyingmama ....
Flyingmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 12, 10:30 am   #28
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Programs: AA 2MM - UA 1P / Hyatt Diamond - SPG Plat / Hertz 5* - Avis 1st
Posts: 2,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingmama View Post
I got the same message earlier today as well as yesterday. But it didn't come as a small message box - rather it took over the entire FT page. When I x out, the whole browser window closes and I have to re-open the browser.

It certainly is annoying.
I have now had this exact same experience on three separate computers in three separate locations.

XP - IE
Vista - IE
W7 - IE

Each of the computers is clean of virus problems. In each instance, the web page is redirected.

This would appear to be an IBB issue.
Wilbur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 12, 2:14 pm   #29
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Programs: BAEC Silver, Virgin Red, IHG Gold, HHonors Silver
Posts: 1,377
Same here. Once a day, last time about a minute ago.
xenole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 12, 2:28 pm   #30
Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Mileage Run Forum, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 38,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenole View Post
Same here. Once a day, last time about a minute ago.
Me too and that's now 3 or 4 times on different computers at home & work.
tcook052 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 9:31 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.