Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Support&Services > Technical Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 31, 08, 3:53 am   #1
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Little Red Dot Com
Programs: SQ*G, SK*S, IHG Plat, MR Gold
Posts: 3,995
Exclamation Wholesale copying from FlyerTalk... with a twist

A site called "TripFly" has apparently copied FT's forums wholesale, encrypting the names of all posters and doing utterly bizarre synonym-based substitutions of words in content to thinly disguise it. Sample:

Original
Quote:
jpatokal Feb 23, 07, 10:15 pm
On a Monday morning not too far away, I'll be arriving on an international flight from BKK to FUK at 8:00 AM, with a domestic connection out at 10:15 AM. This will be my first visit to Fukuoka (or anywhere in Kyushu) and, obsessive food slut that I am, I'd like to have a bowl of Hakata tonkotsu ramen for breakfast.
Copy
Quote:
bruesnikinae Feb 23rd 2007

On a Monday morning not too far idle, I'll be oncoming on an global skein of geese from BKK to FUK at 8:00 AM, with a private kinship out at 10:15 AM. This will be my first stop in to Fukuoka (or anywhere in Kyushu) and, perfectionist foodstuffs slattern that I am, I'd equal to have a move of Hakata tonkotsu ramen for hotel.
This perfectionist slattern, for one, is pissed. Can FT/IB whack them with a C&D?
__________________
OpenFlights.org: airport route maps and flight stats. Here are mine!
jpatokal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 08, 7:09 am   #2
Moderator: CommunityBuzz! and Virgin flying club
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: back to my roots in Scotland!
Programs: Tamsin - what else is there to say?
Posts: 21,074
That's just bizarre - they've got one of my do threads on the front page
Jenbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 08, 7:16 am   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: QF WP/LTS (OWE), BD*G, BA/AF/LH/CO/AA cardboard
Posts: 6,369
FWIW, here is the domain details and sadly it is Russian......

Code:
Checking server [whois.publicinterestregistry.net] 
Results:
NOTICE: Access to .ORG WHOIS information is provided to assist persons in 
determining the contents of a domain name registration record in the Public Interest Registry 
registry database. The data in this record is provided by Public Interest Registry 
for informational purposes only, and Public Interest Registry does not guarantee its 
accuracy. This service is intended only for query-based access. You agree 
that you will use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no 
circumstances will you use this data to: (a) allow, enable, or otherwise 
support the transmission by e-mail, telephone, or facsimile of mass 
unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations to entities other than 
the data recipient's own existing customers; or (b) enable high volume, 
automated, electronic processes that send queries or data to the systems of 
Registry Operator or any ICANN-Accredited Registrar, except as reasonably 
necessary to register domain names or modify existing registrations. All 
rights reserved. Public Interest Registry reserves the right to modify these terms at any
time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this policy. 

Domain ID:D153103045-LROR 
Domain Name:TRIPFLY.ORG 
Created On:26-Jun-2008 15:16:56 UTC 
Last Updated On:29-Nov-2008 00:35:55 UTC 
Expiration Date:26-Jun-2009 15:16:56 UTC 
Sponsoring Registrar:Directi Internet Solutions Pvt. Ltd. d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.com (R27-LROR) 
Status:OK 
Registrant ID:DI_9039952 
Registrant Name:Alexey Khokhlov 
Registrant Organization:Alexey Khokhlov 
Registrant Street1:Frunze 44, 74 
Registrant Street2: 
Registrant Street3: 
Registrant City:Kolomna 
Registrant State/Province:0 
Registrant Postal Code:140411 
Registrant Country:RU 
Registrant Phone:+749.550415182 
Registrant Phone Ext.: 
Registrant FAX: 
Registrant FAX Ext.: 
Registrant Email:ktifseo@gmail.com 
Admin ID:DI_9039952 
Admin Name:Alexey Khokhlov 
Admin Organization:Alexey Khokhlov 
Admin Street1:Frunze 44, 74 
Admin Street2: 
Admin Street3: 
Admin City:Kolomna 
Admin State/Province:0 
Admin Postal Code:140411 
Admin Country:RU 
Admin Phone:+749.550415182 
Admin Phone Ext.: 
Admin FAX: 
Admin FAX Ext.: 
Admin Email:ktifseo@gmail.com 
Tech ID:DI_9039952 
Tech Name:Alexey Khokhlov 
Tech Organization:Alexey Khokhlov 
Tech Street1:Frunze 44, 74 
Tech Street2: 
Tech Street3: 
Tech City:Kolomna 
Tech State/Province:0 
Tech Postal Code:140411 
Tech Country:RU 
Tech Phone:+749.550415182 
Tech Phone Ext.: 
Tech FAX: 
Tech FAX Ext.: 
Tech Email:ktifseo@gmail.com 
Name Server:NS1.AVTOSPEAK.RU 
Name Server:NS2.AVTOSPEAK.RU 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server: 
Name Server:
Traveloguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 09, 11:30 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 90 miles W, 4000 ft up from DEN, and RDU
Programs: CO Plat, UA1K(in recovery), AS MVPG, DL Gold, HHonors Dia, SPG Plat, LANPass nadie
Posts: 2,162
Just saw this thread. I particularly like this post excerpt:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripfly badly babelfished plagiarism machine
US Protocol is very easy as can be pursuit with wines, provided that you insist every celibate spunk you have with you.
http://tripfly.org/discussion/20367/...he-usa/#Item_0
MarkXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 09, 12:29 am   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 11,936
FlyerTalk already welcomes such copying by a number of search engines. The only notable aspect of this event is that it may cost them some minimal ad revenue. Your contributions have already been sold.
birdstrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 09, 12:02 am   #6
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Little Red Dot Com
Programs: SQ*G, SK*S, IHG Plat, MR Gold
Posts: 3,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdstrike View Post
FlyerTalk already welcomes such copying by a number of search engines. The only notable aspect of this event is that it may cost them some minimal ad revenue. Your contributions have already been sold.
I'm perfectly happy to have my contributions syndicated all over the planet. However, I'm not happy to have them attributed to "bruesnikinae", or to have my prose mangled.

But I presume this problem will resolve itself in time, as in their current form, those posts are just way too mangled to be of more than humorous use...
__________________
OpenFlights.org: airport route maps and flight stats. Here are mine!
jpatokal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 09, 7:04 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1P
Posts: 202
The funny thing is that after Tripfly's translation, N830MH's posts become readable!
Sarah DDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 09, 6:42 am   #8
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane
Programs: AA Plat, IC-PC Plat, SPG, SQ, US
Posts: 1,025
OMG this one is hysterical! ROTFL

http://tripfly.org/discussion/22493/...d-room-policy/

Here is the original.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/inter...om-policy.html

So where do I book an "Over Tap Water Bungalow"? LMAO!
__________________
My travel blog to South America/RTW. http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog...2007/tpod.html
Tiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 2:58 am   #9
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ORD: #1 in Flight Cancellations
Programs: UA lowly 2P, AGR, SPG, CTA
Posts: 917
Yeah, I discovered it several weeks ago. I think that it might be relying on some logic that might seem tenuous to us non-spammers: when people Google for travel terms, they use a lot of proper names. Those proper names don't get translated (and so appear with exactly the same incidence on tripfly as on FT), only the common words surrounding them. However, by the time someone's clicked through to tripfly, all that the evil spammers need is for 0.005% of them to click on an ad to cover their costs -- anything more is gravy.

It's also a way around Google algorithms that denigrate mirrored content, pushing it down the list of search results; Google can't tell that the texts are inherently similar, since such a large percentage of the words have been changed.

I might just toss a few random misspellings into my posts just to foil their babelfish...
__________________
a quick guide to ORD
paytonc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:11 pm.




SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0