Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

The US Grant - San Diego, CA [Master Thread]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

The US Grant - San Diego, CA [Master Thread]

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19, 2006, 6:55 pm
Original Poster

Programs: IC Platinum Ambassador, UA Mileage Plus, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Arrow The US Grant - San Diego, CA [Master Thread]

Originally Posted by tfong007
I have been staying in this city for the last 6 months. The work on this hotel is happening slowly. I cant see them completing things any time soon. The room renovations are not close to being completed and you can see the doors and windows for the rooms all being open. The only thing that is functional on that entire block is the Bruggers bagels.

I am exciting about this hotel, but the area around the hotel is a slum. The only glimmer of hope is Horton's plaza. I have seen people dealing drugs in broad daylight directly across the Mint on Broadway. Unless the city of San Diego starts to clean up the drug and gang activity on Broadway its not good for visitors.
I was walking by the Hotel today and noticed it is now open. They opened on Tuesday October 17th. They had a grand opening of about 400 people according to the Front Desk Manager.

Appearance: The place looked beautiful--you could still tell they still had a small ways to go with the little things like refinishing the sidewalks and some small interior touches. The Front Desk Manager stated that only floors 3-6 were open with none of the suites available to mid-late November. Suites were on the 8th floor and above. The rooms looked nice with unique paintings done by an author they had flown in (each room has it's own unique painting). They will have 47 Suites available