Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Starwood rules for service animals?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 30, 2015, 5:22 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Starwood rules for service animals?

This concerns a USA property. I understand that by law service animals must be accepted (IIRC without any additional fees) and can go anywhere, including the restaurant, but are there any rules at all? The hotel staff didn't seem to know.

This was the situation: There was a large dog, not a seeing eye dog and without any service vest or other indication that the animal was something other than a pet, but I guess it could have been an emotional support beast. I'm no expert on dog breeds but I think it was a chocolate lab. The owner was a big old guy, neither strong nor frail looking.

When the owner took it out for bathroom breaks, I noticed that the dog tended to walk about 20-30 feet in front of the owner, both indoors and outside. There was absolutely no leash or other attempt to control the dog or keep it near the owner. The dog also felt free to approach people (strangers who were hotel guests) to sniff them and their belongings.

When I was in the lobby, the dog approached me and started to lunge and jump. At that time, the owner was about 30 feet away, just entering the lobby from the far corner. I asked the owner to please control his dog and he respond that he didn't have to as it was a service animal and he wasn't required to use a leash or do anything either, that he and the dog could do as he pleased since it was a service dog.

Is this really right? I was afraid that the dog was either going to jump all over me, with its front paws on my shoulders, or even bit me although in all fairness it wasn't barking or growling. Shouldn't a service dog be either on a leash (of a reasonable length) while in the hotel or trained to stay close to its owner?