Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

NYC -> BKK booked, but any better options?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 9, 2014, 2:27 pm
Original Poster

Question NYC -> BKK booked, but any better options?

Hi there flyerfolk. I've been lurking in these forums for many years gathering all sorts of useful info from you all, so thanks for that!

This is my first attempt at booking a great award flight, so I'm nervous I might be missing something!

I'm looking to head to Thailand (and SEA in general) in the next 2-4 weeks from NYC. I found a BusinessFirst Saver award flight from JFK -> BKK via Frankfurt for 80K miles one way which I think is pretty solid, but I'm wondering if I can bulk it up anyhow - maybe add a layover or another stop (ideally I'd like to spend more time in Chiang Mai than Bangkok). I searched for old posts mentioning this route but haven't found anything.

I'd love any expertise you can lend! (and hopefully I put this in the right place!)

Thanks!

Edit: I'm in the 24 hour cancellation window, so I have some time to play around.
Old Jul 9, 2014, 3:05 pm

Programs: UA *G 1MM LT United Club & Global Entry
What FFP are you redeeming from?
Which airlines and travel classes (by segment) are you currently booked on?

SunLover
Old Jul 9, 2014, 3:16 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by SunLover
What FFP are you redeeming from?

Which airlines and travel classes (by segment) are you currently booked on?

SunLover
Sorry - that probably would have been helpful up front! Booked via United MileagePlus. Flights are:

NYC -> FRA LH405 (LUFTHANSA)
FRA -> BKK TG921(THAI AIRWAYS)

Both Business (I)

Last edited by jennthegeek; Jul 9, 2014 at 3:22 pm
Old Jul 9, 2014, 4:08 pm

I'd seriously consider adding CNX as destination, with BKK as a 23-hr stopover. TG domestic availability is generally excellent.
Old Jul 9, 2014, 4:14 pm