Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > South America
Reload this Page >

HELP: "Imprisoned" airside GRU

Old Mar 28, 2016, 10:23 am
Original Poster

My wife and I arrive on South African Airways at 3 AM May 1st, and don't leave until 6:30 PM on Turkish to EZE. We're US Citizens and my wife is without visa (and a month before Olympic waiver program) and can't get one (we're outside the US now). Is either hotel inside the transit area (FastSleep or /TRYP)? Is there anything to do in 15.5 hours to prevent going insane? (I have a visa, but won't abandon her.)

Thanks for your help. I hope we don't die in there. Flying biz and do have Priority Passes.
Old Mar 28, 2016, 11:10 am
Community Director Emerita

I have no personal experience, but here is the guide to GRU from Sleeping in Airports.
Old Mar 28, 2016, 11:23 am
Moderator, Argentina and FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Lord of Malbec & all Wines Argentine. AA EXP / Marriott Lifetime Silver / Hertz Presidents Circle
Im sorry for your "troubles", but, why did your wife decide to not get herself a Visa....?
Old Mar 28, 2016, 12:55 pm

Programs: OnePass, Delta
If you are relatively close to a SA Embassy or Consulate currently, you may be able to get one relatively quickly...

good luck
Old Mar 28, 2016, 11:46 pm
Original Poster

Reason for no Visa

Thanks for input. My wife cannot get a Brazil visa because we will not be in USA prior to arrival. Brazil requires US citizens to get visas only in the USA. (I have one from a prior visit; she doesn't.)

Looks like the TRYP hotel is airside in Terminal 3, and our inbound and outbound flights use Terminal 3, so I think this solves the issue, though it's an awfully long stay in an "Airport Terminal Hotel"!
Old Mar 29, 2016, 1:41 am

Originally Posted by GeoWalther