Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Feeling like I'm new to skyteam when I have 56k miles.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 23, 2016, 9:57 am
Original Poster

Hi there, I'm a skyTeam member for almost 6 years with 55k miles on Korean air. I've never known any tricks on skyTeam program to get higher member level. I look through lost of info on internet on how to be a skyteam elite plus. And I get so confused cause it seems like there're lots of things I don't know about this program.

1. If I'm a Skypass member [Korean air] can I apply for any other skyteam airlines? Well, I know I can but like will those airlines gives me higher member level right when I apply? or I have to start from zero? For example I've 55k so I'm morning calm club for KE. If I apply for flying blue, will I get to be Gold stats? and then become skyteam elite plus or no?

2. What is the point match or miles match? How is it works?

Thank you for your help!
Old Jan 23, 2016, 11:51 am

Skyteam members won't match between each other, IIRC.

For STE+, though, SkyPass is trickier/harder since their Elite Plus tiers are based on lifetime mileage.
Old Jan 23, 2016, 1:33 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Status & miles are different things
The only trick to status is to fly more
The few airlines that do status match tend to offer 1 level lower than you are now.
Effectively you cannot move ff miles for one fpp to an other ffp

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/infor...help-here.html
Old Jan 23, 2016, 4:12 pm

Programs: AF/KL FB Plat 4L, VA Vel Silver, BA EC, LH M&M
Normally, a program in ST works like this (and Korean's program is a bit an exception here): your status depends on the amount of miles you collected due to flying during the previous year, or on the number of flight segments you flew during the previous year. So how much do you expect to fly in 2016?
Old Jan 23, 2016, 10:08 pm
Original Poster