Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

Singapore airlines 7kg cabin luggage allowance

Singapore airlines 7kg cabin luggage allowance

Old Jul 4, 2014, 11:11 pm
Original Poster

Thumbs down Singapore airlines 7kg cabin luggage allowance

Hi,

Newbie here, so please bear with me

I'm flying with SA on several routes between February-April 2015, and ideally, I want to travel with my hand luggage only. I was surprised though that they only allow one piece of luggage at 7kg, compared with the other airlines I'm travelling on allow 10kg.

Does anyone know how strict they are on this, and, if they weigh luggage?

I'm travelling for six months and don't really want to have to check in luggage.
Old Jul 5, 2014, 8:40 am

Unless you're flying other SQ-owned airlines like Scoot or Tiger, no, they're not strict on this.
Old Jul 5, 2014, 8:43 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Once I saw SQ employees in the jetway at TBIT for the LAX-NRT-SIN flight. They were grabbing large carry on bags, such as those that would barely be legal on USA carriers and aggressively gate checking (for free) those that were too big or too heavy, including the wheeled bag of one unhappy business class passenger. Another guy argued that he had medical equipment and was allowed to keep the bag, IIRC also in business class.
Old Jul 5, 2014, 10:53 pm

Programs: KrisFlyer Gold>>>Silver>>>Blue, Finnair Silver, Royal Caribbean Diamond
I think it's the size more than anything that causes issues.

Keep it small and things will be ok.
Old Jul 6, 2014, 2:04 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA-EP, TK-*G, HL-DM, HY-GLO, MR-LTP
Originally Posted by explorelist
Hi,

Newbie here, so please bear with me