Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26, 12, 11:59 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: CX DM A3 Gold
Posts: 531
T2, T3 and now T1?

"Flights may arrive at either Terminal 2 or Terminal 3. Click here to find out the status of your flight. Information on the arrival terminal will be available two hours before the flight’s estimated time of arrival." So says the SQ website, but SQ37 (the non-stop from LAX) arrived at gate D41 yesterday - which is in T1.

Passengers with checked-in luggage had to schlep to T2 to collect their bags and clear customs.
KACommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 4:46 am   #2
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore
Programs: QF LTG, SQ PPS, NZ/BD/Hilton/SPG Gold
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by KACommuter View Post
So says the SQ website, but SQ37 (the non-stop from LAX) arrived at gate D41 yesterday - which is in T1.

Passengers with checked-in luggage had to schlep to T2 to collect their bags and clear customs.
Surprising, but what's the big deal? Land at the outlying gates in T2 or T3, and it's a similar distance. Take B10, where it can be quicker to get the skytrain to T3 from T1 or, if no luggage pass through immigration at T1. In fact D41 probably involves less "schlepping' than some of the outlying E/F gates - as at least there's the skytrain that gets you close to T2 immigration.
lokijuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 7:26 am   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SIN
Programs: FlyingBlue, Miles and More, Krisflyer
Posts: 538
Whats the problem? After sitting in the plane for that long a nice opportunity to strech your legs.
SQ325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 6:36 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Programs: SKF, ROP, SPG, SL Golden Circle, Hyatt Gold Passport, Marriot
Posts: 461
The problem is confusion.
Dendrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 6:46 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SIN
Programs: FlyingBlue, Miles and More, Krisflyer
Posts: 538
Last time I landed at T1 on SQ, Ground staff was directing passengers towards T2.
On the arrival screen it will be shown as T2-Arrival.
SQ325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 7:58 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: YVR. Now@ AMS
Programs: Mystic & T.A.
Posts: 22,828
SQ doing the Terminal shuffle is not for its and Changi airports' reputation of being a world class airport.

Departing passengers know where they go. Arriving passengers don't as SQ feels that they need not need know as long as the people coming to pick them up find out for themselves where they should meet them.

But its honestly confusing... sometimes, people forget ... I've had many a times wondering around the arrivals hall and my friend has gone to the other terminal. Why can't SQ just say that all flights coming in from HKG land at T3. And if the aircraft is being positioned at say T2, then BUS everyone back to T3 for immigration/customs processing. That's what the major airports do eg AMS, FRA, even BKK!

Or doesn't Changi have passenger buses anymore?
Guy Betsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 10:01 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Programs: CX DM A3 Gold
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQ325 View Post
Last time I landed at T1 on SQ, Ground staff was directing passengers towards T2.
On the arrival screen it will be shown as T2-Arrival.
That's what happened this time too. Confusing for passengers, and irritating for those meeting passengers.

How difficult is it to decide that flights to/from XXX will always leave/arrive at a given terminal as with most other airlines?

Or is this a Changi airport problem?
KACommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 12, 10:27 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 7,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by KACommuter View Post
That's what happened this time too. Confusing for passengers, and irritating for those meeting passengers.

How difficult is it to decide that flights to/from XXX will always leave/arrive at a given terminal as with most other airlines?...
Passengers with flights landing at T1 are directed to T2 for immigration, luggage and customs. Those meeting passengers should still meet them at T2. Nothing confusing to me. D41 can be closer than gates at the end of the figures at T2.

The issue is aircraft rotation. Terminals/gates are assigned based on what destination the aircraft is headed next, not arriving from. Many aircraft rotate from longhaul to shorthaul services frequently. The A345 in your case might be headed to maintenance and doesn't need a gate in T2/T3. Perhaps I am just used to it, DL uses T2/T3/T4 at JFK and I never know for sure which terminal I will arrive at or depart from.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Betsy View Post
...Why can't SQ just say that all flights coming in from HKG land at T3. And if the aircraft is being positioned at say T2, then BUS everyone back to T3 for immigration/customs processing...
I hate buses.

Last edited by TerryK; May 27, 12 at 10:37 pm..
TerryK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 1:54 am   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Programs: No longer loyal "over-entitled" 1K
Posts: 3,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryK View Post
I hate buses.
+1. I'd rather land at T1 gate and walk to T2 than take the bus (unless SQ picks me up in Porsche LH style )
__________________
I'm reading FT on Friday night because I have 6AM flight on Saturday morning...
kkjay77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 2:57 am   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, bmi *G, Flying Blue Gold, Marriott Silver, EK, TK, MH, UA
Posts: 1,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryK View Post
The issue is aircraft rotation.
Is that my problem?

Never mind buses, why don't they just tow the aircraft to the next gate, or does Changi not have tow trucks either?

Or, even better, why don't all SQ flights just use the same terminal? Connecting at SIN is such a hassle - arriving at an outlying A gate and departing from an outlying E gate... There may be Skytrains, but schlepping through the shopping mall that is T3 - even the schlep from the lounge to the far B gates is a complete pain. I'd go as far as to say it's worse than BKK...
kt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 3:43 am   #11
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SIN
Programs: A3*G, SQ*G, CX*S, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Le Club Plat
Posts: 671
Really.... connecting at Changi is like the easiest thing on earth... travellators all over the place for the lazies, sky trains connecting all the terminals, clean, airy, lots of things to do if you're not in a hurry...

Anyway, it might be indeed confusing for some people and it's understandable. not everyone flies once a month or is "airport savvy". Imagine someone who's flying for the first time and asked him relative of friend to pick him up at terminal X and ends up in Y. But then again, that relative or friend should be smart enough to look at the screens as soon as he or she gets to the arrival hall and then easily take the sky train to the other terminal.

For luggage, it's quite alright as long as there is ground staff pointing you at the right direction to collect them. I don't personally care where I land... follow the screens and go collect your stuff.
enelym1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 8:50 am   #12
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 7,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt74 View Post
...Never mind buses, why don't they just tow the aircraft to the next gate, or does Changi not have tow trucks either?

Or, even better, why don't all SQ flights just use the same terminal? Connecting at SIN is such a hassle.....
You should try to connect through LAX, JFK, ATL, LHR or CDG more. Changi is the one of the best airports in the world for connections.

Towing aircraft is a very slow process. No airlines will do that unless absolutely necessary. It will increase aircraft turnaround time by 1+ hours. The increased traffic on taxiways will also impact other aircraft and slow down airport operations overall.

If there is a last minute aircraft swap, it is usually announced as gate change as it is faster to move passengers than aircraft. I am sure SQ would love to use just one terminal if Changi has a terminal large enough for all SQ flights.

Last edited by TerryK; May 28, 12 at 9:03 am..
TerryK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 9:23 am   #13
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore
Programs: QF LTG, SQ PPS, NZ/BD/Hilton/SPG Gold
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryK View Post
You should try to connect through LAX, JFK, ATL, LHR or CDG more.
Oh they're not confusing just time consuming

Seriously though I do agree with you. Changi is very easy to do a transfer as it is one step, you simply find your outbound flight gate, as arrivals and departures are not separated. At many airports it is a two step process, you need to find transit point and then the gate, so some backtracking may be inevitable. (a corollary of this is gate based security, which I prefer as well, but that is a completely separate discussion).

As for people doing the meet and greet, how hard is it in 2012 to either a) use the internet, mobile phone or other device to check arrival terminal OR b) checking the monitors on arrival at the airport - either airside or landside OR c) ask someone at the airport?
lokijuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 9:33 am   #14
TalkBoard Member, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.003MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 31,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkjay77 View Post
+1. I'd rather land at T1 gate and walk to T2 than take the bus (unless SQ picks me up in Porsche LH style )
I agree. I hate buses and try to avoid them.
MSPeconomist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 12, 9:33 am   #15
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: A3-G | TG-S | SQ-S | CX-S
Posts: 1,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Betsy View Post
SQ doing the Terminal shuffle is not for its and Changi airports' reputation of being a world class airport.

Departing passengers know where they go. Arriving passengers don't as SQ feels that they need not need know as long as the people coming to pick them up find out for themselves where they should meet them.

But its honestly confusing... sometimes, people forget ... I've had many a times wondering around the arrivals hall and my friend has gone to the other terminal. Why can't SQ just say that all flights coming in from HKG land at T3. And if the aircraft is being positioned at say T2, then BUS everyone back to T3 for immigration/customs processing. That's what the major airports do eg AMS, FRA, even BKK!

Or doesn't Changi have passenger buses anymore?
but isn't this more troublesome?
__________________
visit my blog (updated 3-Jun-2014)
lingua101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 pm.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.