Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Checkpoints and Borders Policy Debate
Reload this Page >

I was detained at the TSA checkpoint for about 25 minutes today

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
View Poll Results: Do you agree or disagree with the action undertaken by MKEbound?
Agree
75.92%
Disagree
14.27%
Neither agree nor disagree
7.43%
Not sure
2.38%
Voters: 1009. You may not vote on this poll

I was detained at the TSA checkpoint for about 25 minutes today

Search this Thread

Old Oct 2, 2006, 6:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by breny
I don't believe this applies to this debate since the activity in question was solicitation of donations and not writing on a bag. However, I am not a lawyer.
If we keep this up, we should apply for accreditation with the ABA. FT Law School (or maybe University of Randy). I like it!

I did take the time to read Justice O'Connor's opinion and I found this excerpt especially interesting (bolding mine):
I appreciate that you took the time to read it, so I'll explain it.

For these reasons, the Port Authority's restrictions on solicitation and leafletting within the airport terminals do not qualify for the strict scrutiny that applies to restriction of speech in public fora. That airports are not public fora, however, does not mean that the government can restrict speech in whatever way it likes.

"Public forum" is a publicly-accessible location that has, traditionally, been regarded as a venue for political expression, e.g. parks, street corners, bandshells, etc. "Quasi public forum" is a publicly-accessible location that, while not primarily intended as a venue for political expression, nonetheless serves that function. Airports are not public fora. They are quasi-public fora. The only difference with respect to limitations on speech in a quasi-public fora is that it is permissible to limit, without regard to content, speech that is incompatible with the purpose of the quasi-public forum.