Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 27, 12, 9:43 am   #1
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 3
Question Nexus/GE Fingerprint Scanning at YYZ - Appointment Required?

I'm a NEXUS member and on my GOES, it says that I can have my fingerprints taken to get GE privileges. I'd like to do this at YYZ but I'm wondering if an appointment is required or if I can just drop in and do it.

Any recent experiences would be greatly appreciated.
DotNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 12, 9:59 am   #2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Kpyptonium
Posts: 729
Global Entry is a U.S. government program, so I am guessing that you can't get a fingerprint scan for GE at YYZ. You can get an iris scan for Nexus with no appointment at YYZ, but Nexus is a bilateral program (and an iris scan is a Canadian only requirement for air entry).
rubesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 12, 10:02 am   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: YYC
Programs: AC Basic, UA MP Silver, Marriott PlatniumElite
Posts: 2,285
It is probably best to ask your YYZ question on the AC forum under the Nexus Thread.
__________________
The WR is for Wild Rose the provincial flower for Alberta, Canada.
WR Cage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 11:46 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW
Programs: AS, BA, AA
Posts: 3,424
I know you can get your irises scanned for NEXUS with no appointment at several Canadian airports. (I did mine at YVR.)

I wonder if Canadian NEXUS stations are set up to take fingerprints at all, since NEXUS uses iris scans. US airports certainly don't scan irises, or I would have taken care of that on our side of the border.
janetdoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 12, 4:16 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,835
US CBP doesn't use Iris scans execept at Canadian preclearance facilities. Theoretically, if you had an iris scan you could use the Global Entry kiosk to enter the US Customs preclearance facility at a Canadian airport, but it wouldn't help entering Canada. I don't see the point of doing it at this point, but I'd just point that out.
Dubai Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 12, 8:52 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA Platinum/1MM Lifetime Gold, TACA/Avianca Lifemiles Oro
Posts: 5,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubesl View Post
Global Entry is a U.S. government program, so I am guessing that you can't get a fingerprint scan for GE at YYZ. You can get an iris scan for Nexus with no appointment at YYZ, but Nexus is a bilateral program (and an iris scan is a Canadian only requirement for air entry).
Guessed wrong. Guessing really doesn't offer much or help anyone, less so when it is wrong.

There are as many US CBP agents at the YYZ NEXUS office as there are Canadians.

Go there. Sign in on the US clipboard and write Fingerprints only and they'll call you over. Ask for your little CBP passport sticker too, they have 100's of them.
ricktoronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 12, 8:57 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA Platinum/1MM Lifetime Gold, TACA/Avianca Lifemiles Oro
Posts: 5,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubai Stu View Post
US CBP doesn't use Iris scans execept at Canadian preclearance facilities. Theoretically, if you had an iris scan you could use the Global Entry kiosk to enter the US Customs preclearance facility at a Canadian airport, but it wouldn't help entering Canada. I don't see the point of doing it at this point, but I'd just point that out.
The Global Entry machines do not do iris scans at US pre-clearance which is why they have both GE machines (fingerprints) and NEXUS machines (iris) at US preclearance. Use either if qualified for either.

If you have no fingerprint scans even if you are enrolled in GE (automatically) as part of NEXUS you won't be able to physically use the GE machine. It reads fingerprints.

Your entire post is quite confusing frankly. There are two programs with two differing types of authentications. If you have the iris scan you must have NEXUS so you just use that machine. If that's all you have then you can't use GE at all.

Thus the corollary is that GE only members (US based who never applied for NEXUS at all) would use a GE machine and would not have the ability to enter Canada quickly with NEXUS , not having it of course.
ricktoronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 12, 6:13 am   #8
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: LAX/OXR/BUR/SAN/YYZ/YKF/BUF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K, AA EXP, Starwood Gold, Hilton Gold, Omni Platinum, Hertz 5*, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 4,005
Yes, you can have it done without an appointment, just like you can go in and have iris scanning done without an appointment if you had your NEXUS interview done at one of the centers without the iris camera. When I got NEXUS ~2.5 years ago, they were already doing the full 10 fingerprint scanning for everyone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubesl View Post
Global Entry is a U.S. government program, so I am guessing that you can't get a fingerprint scan for GE at YYZ. You can get an iris scan for Nexus with no appointment at YYZ, but Nexus is a bilateral program (and an iris scan is a Canadian only requirement for air entry).
Why in the world would that be? There is a major CBP operation at YYZ and every NEXUS enrollment center has operated as a GE enrollment center since they made the programs fully integrated on the US side.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YEG Guy View Post
It is probably best to ask your YYZ question on the AC forum under the Nexus Thread.
Not really. People in this forum know as much, if not more, about GE and even NEXUS than those in the AC forum.
__________________
So mad about WEDONTCARE infiltrating United's customer relations department that I created a signature.
N1120A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 12, 11:14 am   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SEA/NYC. DL DM charter member, UA 1K, NW Plat ('03-'09), Marriott Plat. Always somewhere, never anywhere...
Posts: 6,165
I was just in YYZ airport yesterday and the NEXUS office is located right next to the immigration hall entrance for US-bound flights in Pier H.

I walked in, put my name down on the "update" list and I was called 3 minutes later. There are two lists to put your name down for - appointments (must be scheduled in advance) and "updates".

The CBSA officer took my NEXUS card, four pictures of my eyes and then a fifth shot to confirm it could read my iris correctly and confirm it's me.

I then went through the immigration hall but because I think fingerprints are more easily read than irises I decided to use the GE machine. As always, worked like a champ.

-RM
__________________
2014: UA 80% (31/39); DL 100% (1/1)
2013: UA 85% (56/66); DL 80% (8/10); AS 25% (1/4)
RobOnLI is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 8:27 pm.