Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 7, 12, 3:53 pm   #1
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Savage, MN USA
Posts: 1,331
Global Entry - Should I get Nexus?

Ok found the other thread but very confused

I have Global Entry but now I will need to travel to Canada.
(MSP-YYZ-YUL)

As I understand GE will help me get back to US but is no help into Canada.

So should I get Nexus?
How long does it take to get Nexus if you have already been approved for GE?

Any other advice.
rthib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 12, 4:00 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG/YYZ
Programs: UA Gold, AC, AA, DL, Marriott Gold, Hyatt
Posts: 6,737
While you essentially have the US approval you need, you need to go through similar background checks with Canada as well to get Nexus. That's why GE doesn't get Nexus, but Nexus gets GE.

I find Nexus worth it traveling to Canada ~ once per month. It's also half the price of GE. If you're only going to Canada once, might not be worth it. Note you'll need to do an interview/iris scan at a Nexus office - which are all in Canada and a few US border towns.
emcampbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 12, 7:27 pm   #3
2014 Elections
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 4,282
I applied for NEXUS after getting GE. I was approved in 2 days.

I did have to interview and get fingerprinted by the US person, even though they have that on file from GE. The Canadian and I just talked hockey during the interview. All and all, really informal doing NEXUS after GE.

FWIW, YUL didn't have GE kiosks in the fall. Not sure if that's changed or not.
tusphotog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 12, 11:27 am   #4
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Kpyptonium
Posts: 760
Unfortunately you did things the wrong way around - Nexus, which includes GE, is $50, GE alone is $100, so now you are going to end up paying $150 for what you could have gotten for $50. BTW, Nexus is great - I usually save 15 - 60 min. crossing the border by using the special Nexus lane (either direction).
rubesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 12, 12:03 pm   #5
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Savage, MN USA
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubesl View Post
Unfortunately you did things the wrong way around - Nexus, which includes GE, is $50, GE alone is $100, so now you are going to end up paying $150 for what you could have gotten for $50. BTW, Nexus is great - I usually save 15 - 60 min. crossing the border by using the special Nexus lane (either direction).
For those of us with Platinum Amex, GE was free - so no loss.

Looks like I can use GE in YYZ coming home but hopefully will get Nexus for next trip.
rthib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 12, 3:03 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: AAEXP
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubesl View Post
Unfortunately you did things the wrong way around - Nexus, which includes GE, is $50, GE alone is $100, so now you are going to end up paying $150 for what you could have gotten for $50. BTW, Nexus is great - I usually save 15 - 60 min. crossing the border by using the special Nexus lane (either direction).
Yeah I also did it the wrong order. That was the price I paid for not checking FT before I applied.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tusphotog View Post
I applied for NEXUS after getting GE. I was approved in 2 days.

I did have to interview and get fingerprinted by the US person, even though they have that on file from GE. The Canadian and I just talked hockey during the interview. All and all, really informal doing NEXUS after GE.

FWIW, YUL didn't have GE kiosks in the fall. Not sure if that's changed or not.
I don't remember how long my NEXUS approval was after GE but it was quick, a few days I think. Unfortunately I didn't get the easy interview. During my GE interview I was grilled pretty hard for at least half an hour. I blame it on having triple citizenship (US, Canada, 3rd country) and not a WASP. The CIS agent was very detailed with my life history.

NEXUS interview in YVR was better, but mostly because I already had GE. The CIS agent got first dibs at me and went through the app line by line (not as bad as LAX), and then the CBSA guy asked me a few questions about travelings. Neither was in the mood to talk hockey with me. However, between talking to two agents and the iris scan, I was in and out in 30 min.

Sidenote: I was late to my NEXUS interview by over two hours because my AS flight from SFO was cancelled due to WX. I called the office and no one answered so I left a message. When I showed up at the NEXUS office no one seemed to have cared or even checked the message.

BTW, to whoever is applying: Bring EVERYTHING. if you even suspect that they might ask, bring it to your interview. I had my GE interview in the time between accepting a job offer and starting that job, and the CIS agent made me email him my offer letter when I flew back to San Jose that night before he signed off the next day.

Also, I applied before they offered a card for GE. I just found out that they issue Global Entry cards now (It used to be NEXUS only). I just looked into it and looks like if you have a NEXUS card, it is the same as having a GE card and you don't need a separate GE card.
__________________
AA
ben1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 12, 3:33 pm   #7
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Savage, MN USA
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben1979 View Post
Also, I applied before they offered a card for GE. I just found out that they issue Global Entry cards now (It used to be NEXUS only). I just looked into it and looks like if you have a NEXUS card, it is the same as having a GE card and you don't need a separate GE card.
Not sure what you use the GE card for?
The GE machine wants your passport and fingers.

I only use the GE card when I want to irritate the TSA guy by not giving him a drivers license.
rthib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 12, 5:11 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: AAEXP
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthib View Post
Not sure what you use the GE card for?
The GE machine wants your passport and fingers.

I only use the GE card when I want to irritate the TSA guy by not giving him a drivers license.
I don't know either. I only realized they exist when I saw another FTer with one.


I tried my NEXUS card on a TSA guy at LAX once just to see what would happen, after he stared at it for 5 seconds not sure what to do I realized that standing there is more painful for me and just pulled out my DL instead.
__________________
AA
ben1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 12, 12:50 am   #9
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: CO Plat & UA 1K
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben1979 View Post
I don't know either. I only realized they exist when I saw another FTer with one.


I tried my NEXUS card on a TSA guy at LAX once just to see what would happen, after he stared at it for 5 seconds not sure what to do I realized that standing there is more painful for me and just pulled out my DL instead.
Nexus is great at the Kiosk and Canadian airports, but terrible at all US airports.
I carry my passport around because I am pretty tired of arguing with not so much TSA security, but boarding gate agents.
vindicate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 12, 2:03 pm   #10
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Kpyptonium
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthib View Post
For those of us with Platinum Amex, GE was free - so no loss.

Looks like I can use GE in YYZ coming home but hopefully will get Nexus for next trip.
Yea, I used AMEX Plat., but I got Nexus + GE for both me and my wife ($50 each & AMEX reimburses $100 of charges coming from the GOES website). Getting Nexus is going to cost you $50 and AMEX won't reimburse it. Also, if you're getting Nexus and using it to enter Canada via air make sure you get the iris scan (at YYZ the Nexus office that does iris scans is on the departures level outside security - you need the iris scan to use Nexus to FLY into Canada - if you get Nexus in the US you don't need an appointment to get the iris scan at YYZ, just walk in & it takes 5 min. - the only non-airport iris scan locations are in Buffalo or Vancouver). Good luck.
rubesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 12, 6:54 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM
Posts: 1,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthib View Post
Not sure what you use the GE card for?
The GE machine wants your passport and fingers.
You can use it to enter the US by land in a Nexus lane (if everyone in the car has Nexus or GE).
Ready2Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 12, 9:24 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Programs: United, Delta Gold
Posts: 925
If you have more than one valid US passport, can you keep both active on your GE account? I will soon be getting an official US passport for work, in addition to my personal one.
kahuna613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 12, 9:31 pm   #13
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Savage, MN USA
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahuna613 View Post
If you have more than one valid US passport, can you keep both active on your GE account? I will soon be getting an official US passport for work, in addition to my personal one.
?? A US Citizen can have only one Valid Passport.
There is no such thing as a work passport vs a personal passport.
rthib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 12, 10:56 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Programs: United, Delta Gold
Posts: 925
Yes there is, particularly if you work for the US government...please see the Wikipedia page on US passports for more information.
kahuna613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 12, 12:15 am   #15
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,876
In addition to government employees, you can get a second passport to visit Israel if you also travel to places who don't recognize her, eg Lebanon, Syria, Saudi, Oman, Yemen, and Iran.
Dubai Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:11 pm.