Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 16, 11, 8:45 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,412
Global Entry question - omitted countries from application.

So I signed up for Global Entry and stupidly left a few countries off of my "list of countries you've been to in the last 5 years". I don't see an option to update the application after it's been submitted. Should I just tell them about this at the interview? I assume (hope) it won't be a basis for denying the application?
crimson12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 8:49 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Anywhere I need to be.
Programs: OW Emerald, *A Gold, NEXUS, GE, ABTC/APEC, South Korea SES, eIACS, PP
Posts: 13,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimson12 View Post
So I signed up for Global Entry and stupidly left a few countries off of my "list of countries you've been to in the last 5 years". I don't see an option to update the application after it's been submitted. Should I just tell them about this at the interview? I assume (hope) it won't be a basis for denying the application?
I forgot to put Canada on the list when I signed up.
They didn't care, and I have GE & NEXUS.
AA_EXP09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 8:58 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,412
Good to know they don't care, though GE does ask you to list places you've been other than the US, Canada or Mexico...

I left off UK, Portugal, St. Lucia, and Germany. Yeah, I don't know how I forgot four different trips, either.
crimson12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 2:46 am   #4
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ORD-AMS
Programs: Hilton Diamond; Amex Plat; AA-United-KLM
Posts: 245
I wouldn't go so far as to say they don't care where you've been.

I'm sure they're interested more in travel patterns to high risk, high threat, high crime countries. So leaving off UK wont bother anyone, but if it seems that you keep going to North Korea and Afghanistan every other week and are less than forthcoming about it, expect a phone call [or a home visit from the suits] about your application.

For super frequent global travelers, it not always easy to remember where you've been, or to be able to read all the stamps in your passport, or to fit all the countries you've visited on the 2-4 lines provided on most visa/entry/immigration forms.

Last edited by SectionChief; Dec 17, 11 at 2:51 am.
SectionChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 4:58 am   #5
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Western MA
Programs: PC (Plat), MR (Gold), SPG (Gold), HH (Dia), BAEC (Silver)
Posts: 1,894
Question LPR naturalizing - Problem with Global Entry?

I'll toss in another question if I may (thread title seems generic enough to piggy-back).

I'm a Permanent Resident who is going through the naturalization process. Is it ok to sign up for GE and then subsequently naturalize (or will this somehow invalidate the data that GE have, e.g. my new US passport number)?

I want to get GE done quickly so I can get it reimbursed on my AMEX Platinum before canceling the card.
User Name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 8:27 am   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Anywhere I need to be.
Programs: OW Emerald, *A Gold, NEXUS, GE, ABTC/APEC, South Korea SES, eIACS, PP
Posts: 13,892
Mine was difficult to put in, but here it is.
Canada
USA
Mexico
Jamaica
S Korea
China
HK
Macau
Singapore
Malaysia
Vietnam
Thailand
UK
France
Germany
Spain
Switzerland
S Africa
Japan
Poland
Columbia
Australia
NZ
Taiwan
Italy
AA_EXP09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 10:18 am   #7
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimson12 View Post
Good to know they don't care, though GE does ask you to list places you've been other than the US, Canada or Mexico...

I left off UK, Portugal, St. Lucia, and Germany. Yeah, I don't know how I forgot four different trips, either.
Interestingly, the interviewer specifically asked if I had been to Mexico. I had taken a cruise to Cozumel, but had not listed that on my application...I don't think that's why he was asking because I don't think anyone scanned the passport in Cozumel. In any case, I told him about that.

I didn't leave anything else off, but I did go to a new country (UK) after applying and before approval. The interviewer read the list I had submitted, and asked if there were any countries I needed to add. I told him about the trip, and everything was fine. I have no idea if he was comparing my list with a "missing countries" list.
igopogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 11:12 am   #8
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Savage, MN USA
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by SectionChief View Post
I wouldn't go so far as to say they don't care where you've been.

I'm sure they're interested more in travel patterns to high risk, high threat, high crime countries. So leaving off UK wont bother anyone, but if it seems that you keep going to North Korea and Afghanistan every other week and are less than forthcoming about it, expect a phone call [or a home visit from the suits] about your application.

For super frequent global travelers, it not always easy to remember where you've been, or to be able to read all the stamps in your passport, or to fit all the countries you've visited on the 2-4 lines provided on most visa/entry/immigration forms.
They did ask during the interview everywhere I had been and why.
rthib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 11:35 am   #9
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL KM
Posts: 618
I did just the opposite- I put in more countries than I actually traveled in the last 5 years. Didn't seem to be an issue either.
Easy Victor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 12:13 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, TK EC, SPG PLT, Marriott GLD, Hilton GLD, Club Carlson GLD, National Exec, DL HM
Posts: 8,348
I'm wondering what they will ask me about countries visited. I put in zero countries visited (the truth, I'm a terrible FTer I know but I am making progress!) but I am going to Costa Rica next month and will likely have several other countries in my future. Figured I might as well apply with the $100 refund from the Plat, in advance of my trips. I was conditionally approved but still need to schedule the interview (waiting for something I'll need for it before I schedule that).
__________________
My pictures on Instagram My Flight Memory The UA Island Hopper meetup thread Next destinations: DFW, RAP, TUL, XNA, IAH, HKGx2, SYD, HNL, GUM, HKG, AKL, PER, MEL
TheBOSman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 12:28 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL KM
Posts: 618
If they ask you, just tell them where you've been/havent been. If they've conditionally approved you, you're 90% there.

It's my opinion that they're looking for people traveling to countries with known terrorist activity, and also the truthfulness of the applicant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBOSman View Post
I'm wondering what they will ask me about countries visited. I put in zero countries visited (the truth, I'm a terrible FTer I know but I am making progress!) but I am going to Costa Rica next month and will likely have several other countries in my future. Figured I might as well apply with the $100 refund from the Plat, in advance of my trips. I was conditionally approved but still need to schedule the interview (waiting for something I'll need for it before I schedule that).
Easy Victor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 1:01 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SFO
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBOSman View Post
I'm wondering what they will ask me about countries visited. I put in zero countries visited (the truth, I'm a terrible FTer I know but I am making progress!) but I am going to Costa Rica next month and will likely have several other countries in my future. Figured I might as well apply with the $100 refund from the Plat, in advance of my trips. I was conditionally approved but still need to schedule the interview (waiting for something I'll need for it before I schedule that).
I'm sure they won't care that you haven't traveled yet.

But I have a question...Costa Rica isn't a reason for Global Entry? If you're flying back through Miami I think you will be very happy to fly through immigration.

(Rereading your post, I guess Costa Rica is the reason you're asking the question...have fun and get a steak at El Bramadero if you're MR'ing through Liberia)
igopogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 1:26 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, TK EC, SPG PLT, Marriott GLD, Hilton GLD, Club Carlson GLD, National Exec, DL HM
Posts: 8,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by igopogo View Post
I'm sure they won't care that you haven't traveled yet.

But I have a question...Costa Rica isn't a reason for Global Entry? If you're flying back through Miami I think you will be very happy to fly through immigration.

(Rereading your post, I guess Costa Rica is the reason you're asking the question...have fun and get a steak at El Bramadero if you're MR'ing through Liberia)
Yes. Going through MIA is EXACTLY the perfect reason to get GE . I'll be passing through LIR so I'll see if I can get a stop in at that restaurant, I'm always up for a good steak!

Was just wondering what they might ask me. I'm not concerned about it or worried they might reject me at all, more just curious. I once had an interview to work at the passport processing center and I used to work for a government agency (the only one more hated than TSA!), so I'm not too concerned about acceptance. I'm just in something of an unusual situation. They'll see that I am harmless . Just going to mention that I have much more international travel coming up (also truth), that's why I want it despite nothing previous.
__________________
My pictures on Instagram My Flight Memory The UA Island Hopper meetup thread Next destinations: DFW, RAP, TUL, XNA, IAH, HKGx2, SYD, HNL, GUM, HKG, AKL, PER, MEL
TheBOSman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 4:01 pm   #14
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA 2MM Perpetual Platinum; HH & SPG Gold
Posts: 21,039
Moderator action

Thread relocated to Practical Travel Safety forum which hosts primary discussions of the Global Entry program.
mia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 11, 4:54 pm   #15
Ari
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 10,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by crimson12 View Post
So I signed up for Global Entry and stupidly left a few countries off of my "list of countries you've been to in the last 5 years". I don't see an option to update the application after it's been submitted. Should I just tell them about this at the interview? I assume (hope) it won't be a basis for denying the application?
At your interview, they will give you the chance to update or amend any application information before your fingerprints are submitted for final program approval.
Ari is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 pm.