Go Back   > > >
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 12, 11, 7:51 am   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RDU
Programs: OnePass
Posts: 772
NoS and PHL

Hey all...

Going to be flying RDU-PHL this weekend. Since I'm not paying for this trip, I'm sucking up the airport part instead of flying (relocation budgets FTW)

I know, unforunately, what to expect out of RDU. I've read PHL's listing, and find it confusing.

Will I find NoS? I'm flying US, which I believe is Terminal B. If there are NoS, can I get around them?

Thanks in advance!
mikemey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:15 am   #2
  
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: YUL
Posts: 49
PHL has MMW units at A-international, B, C, and F. D & E are clear, for now.

As for how many there are, B & C checkpoints each have one MMW, not sure about the other two. A colleague of mine departed from terminal B the other day and he found it easy to SDOO.

I'm sorry you need to depart from RDU, tsastatus.net shows it to be one of the worst; all red.
MG2779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:29 am   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS | MCI
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, G.E./NEXUS, Amex, UA 1K/RCC, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 19,875
@ RDU, US flies out of Terminal B, which is infested with Nude-O-Scopes. If all lanes are open, the one or two on the far left are WTMD only. When these are open, it should be an easy SDOO.

During times when the NoS lanes are open, I've found it easy to time my unpacking, so I can use the WTMD.. Don't go too fast, and allow for one or two people to get in line for the NoS.. Then you can make your move
FriendlySkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:31 am   #4
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RDU
Programs: OnePass
Posts: 772
@Friendly: Oh I know how RDU works, unfortunately. It's my home airport.

I had heard that at PHL you could reach any gate from any terminal...is that true?
mikemey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:32 am   #5
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PHL , EWR
Programs: AA Platinum, UA Gold, Hyatt Diamond, Avis First
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemey View Post
Hey all...

Going to be flying RDU-PHL this weekend. Since I'm not paying for this trip, I'm sucking up the airport part instead of flying (relocation budgets FTW)

I know, unforunately, what to expect out of RDU. I've read PHL's listing, and find it confusing.

Will I find NoS? I'm flying US, which I believe is Terminal B. If there are NoS, can I get around them?

Thanks in advance!
I haven't had good luck being able to SDOO @ B or C lately. If the separate elite checkpoint @ C is open it's WTMD only but I've just taken to entering through D/E and walking airside back down to B or C. It's not too far out of the way but a shame to have to even do it.
steve65341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:33 am   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS | MCI
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, G.E./NEXUS, Amex, UA 1K/RCC, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 19,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemey View Post
@Friendly: Oh I know how RDU works, unfortunately. It's my home airport.

I had heard that at PHL you could reach any gate from any terminal...is that true?


Little bit of a brain fart there.

The info can be used for other people going through RDU...
FriendlySkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 8:39 am   #7
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RDU
Programs: OnePass
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by FriendlySkies View Post


Little bit of a brain fart there.

The info can be used for other people going through RDU...
I'll send you an extra cup of coffee.
mikemey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 9:06 am   #8
  
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wild Wiltshire
Programs: GGL, Cats protection
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemey View Post
@Friendly: Oh I know how RDU works, unfortunately. It's my home airport.

I had heard that at PHL you could reach any gate from any terminal...is that true?
if you like walking miles!
pinkcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 10:40 am   #9
  
Join Date: Nov 2005
Programs: EZ Pass, Starbucks Gold, Red Cross blood donor
Posts: 4,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemey View Post
I had heard that at PHL you could reach any gate from any terminal...is that true?
You can walk from A-E in PHL inside security. In order to get to F, you should take the shuttles. If you do decide to walk to F inside security, you would get forced landside and then have to reclear.

PHL is pretty well explained in this link... http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/us-ai...a-airport.html

As steve65431 says, if you are in the elite lane in C, you will generally be guided to the WTMD.
bitburgr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 11, 10:43 am   #10
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 32,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemey View Post
@Friendly: Oh I know how RDU works, unfortunately. It's my home airport.

I had heard that at PHL you could reach any gate from any terminal...is that true?
Lucky for me that I didn't leave from secure area. I stay inside the entire concourse. I turnaround back home RDU-MSP-PHX. I don't see the bodyscanners upstairs at TSA checkpoint. I won't go near at TSA checkpoint.
N830MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top