Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Reload this Page >

Detained By CBP and They needed all my Passwords !! @ Miami

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 28, 2013, 7:34 am
Original Poster

So.... I am new to Flyertalk but here is what happened to me last night.
On Dec. 24, 2013, my wife thought we are going From Detroit (Home) to Miami to Celebrate Christmas, our anniversary and her birthday. We arrive to Miami after an hour delay in Detroit and I told her to run to the other gate cause we are going to The Bahamas !!! So was so excited !
We stayed at the Sandals - Emerald Bay and had a wonderful romantic relaxing 3 nights there.
On the way back to Miami, yesterday, we arrived at 6 pm and I planned to stay a night in Miami to visit Joe's Stone Crab restaurant.

As I left the airplane, I noticed that CBP officers were following me. I asked my wife, and she said that I am just so paranoid !
They as we entered the lines for the passport control (mind you, I am a US citizen), 3 CBP agents approach us and asked us not to wait in line, but to follow them !!!
The first thing they asked us for is we have phones and computers with us.
We said yes, they then said that they need to take them and put them in a safe !!!! I said, why is that? they answered: " We need to put them in a secured place while we talk to you". We then handed them our phones, iPad and the laptop. To my surprise, they then asked us for all our passwords for the devices.. ! That's when I said " Why the hell do you need my passwords". There answer was" The supervisor wants to ensure they are turned off before placing them in the safe"... The only thing that went thru my mind is that they want to make copies of all the data (just like their partners in crime, the NSA) without any legal grounds or court orders !