Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Online Travel Booking and Bidding Agencies
Reload this Page >

Expedia price lower than Hotel Price

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 16, 2016, 8:09 am
Original Poster

Hi all!
This is my first post on FT and as an amateur, I am hoping this is the best place to put it. I've been a lurker for a while and finally decided that I want to get the most out of my traveling experience!

I have a flight booked to Houston in May, and I am looking at staying at the Houstonian. By all accounts, looks like a fabulous hotel and I don't want to miss my weekend morning run + tennis rituals. I booked my flight on Expedia and happened to click the option to add a hotel and save, and the Expedia price is lower than the price for direct booking through the hotel. I called the reservations line and politely asked them if they would match the rate that Expedia was advertising, since it is a price even lower than their direct reservations website [even the Advanced Purchase PrePaid Rate] and she gave me a quick no. The difference is only $23 with taxes.

Is this normal? And if so, is there any disadvantage to me booking on Expedia rather than directly through the hotel in this situation?

Thanks in advance!
Old Apr 16, 2016, 9:35 am

Programs: AA
From experience this is fairly common when booking through third party agents. One downside I can see is that you don't earn points on the respective hotels loyalty scheme. Also check if there is a free cancellation policy, many will offer 24 free cancellation. Some third party agents offer cheaper accommodation for non cancellation rates.
Old Apr 16, 2016, 9:45 am

Programs: Riteaid wellness+ Gold, PlanetFitness Preferred Black, Hyatt Cubic Zirconia, Hallmark Crown Platinum
I don't think so provided that all other terms are the same...

Any chains that offer hotel points should already have best rate guarantee - so those are much easier to get the rates matched.