Wiki Posts
Search

ETSA Confusion - Canadian flying QF between SFO-AKL via SYD

Search this Thread

Old Apr 22, 2016, 11:06 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC
ETSA Confusion - Canadian flying QF between SFO-AKL via SYD

I booked a roundtrip flight from SFO to AKL with a connection in SYD (both ways). I'm a Canadian resident and CDN passport holder. I don't think I require any visitor or transit visa for Australia since I'm only changing planes and both of my connections are 3 hrs long. Am I correct on that? When I log into Qantas website and pull up my booking, it says I need to provide additional info before traveling. It's asking for Electronic Visa Authorization (ETSA) and APIS. I click on the ETSA link provided and it takes me to US Customs and Border Protection. I'm confused on why I need to apply for ETSA as Canadians don't require any visa when travelling for leisure in the US. Do I really need to apply for ETSA ?

Last edited by chatmax; Apr 22, 2016 at 11:11 pm
Old Apr 23, 2016, 3:02 am

Originally Posted by chatmax
When I log into Qantas website and pull up my booking, it says I need to provide additional info before traveling. It's asking for Electronic Visa Authorization (ETSA) and APIS. I click on the ETSA link provided and it takes me to US Customs and Border Protection. I'm confused on why I need to apply for ETSA as Canadians don't require any visa when travelling for leisure in the US. Do I really need to apply for ETSA ?
It's just an automated prompt from Qantas because you're booked on a flight to the USA. If it doesn't apply to you, then don't worry about it.

You will need to complete the APIS information.
Old Apr 23, 2016, 11:45 pm

Programs: AA EXP...couple hotels and cars too
Originally Posted by chatmax