Search

Four Days in Uppsala, Sweden

Search this Thread

Old May 16, 2013, 1:21 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, 1MM
Four Days in Uppsala, Sweden

I will be spending June 24th through June 28th in Uppsala, Sweden, for a work conference. The meetings will be at Uppsala University's Ångström Laboratory, which is situated at Polacksbacken. We have three recommended hotels:

• Clarion Hotel Gillet
  • Hotel Uppsala
  • Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala

Which of these would people recommend? Are there any not on this list (I've already looked at the Hotel Villa Anna; it's way too expensive) that people might also recommend? I'd like a moderate to high-end hotel which isn't too far from nightlife.

Any suggestions for some nice day trips would also be greatly appreciated!
Old May 16, 2013, 4:44 pm

Programs: Various
There is also a Radisson Blu next to the Central station. I studied in Uppsala but that was some years ago and I'm not too updated on the hotel situation. I would suggest you become mentally prepared that you will pay too much for what you get though.

For daytrips you shouldn't forget Stockholm which is only 40 minutes away by train.
Old Jun 14, 2013, 4:36 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

It is now just ten days until my arrival in Sweden!

Originally Posted by Fredrik74
I would suggest you become mentally prepared that you will pay too much for what you get though.
Yeah, it's Scandinavia. Fortunately, that part of the trip is on the company dime; so I won't be as bothered by this as I otherwise might.

I could still use some information about Uppsala if anyone has some that they wish to share. I have picked my hotel; that detail is set. But I am curious to know if anyone has any ideas for evening activities in Uppsala. I know that we are having a dinner at "City Castle" -- which I assume is a reference to Uppsala Slott? -- one evening.

I will also have a full day free. Any recommendations?