Wiki Posts
Search

Moving to NYC- Question on travel to LGA

Search this Thread

Old Jul 14, 2009, 6:52 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Lifetime Platinum 7MM
Moving to NYC- Question on travel to LGA

We are moving to NYC from Chicago in a couple of weeks (living in SoHo). I have been traveling on AA out of ORD for several years now and have the routine down to a science. With LGA, not so much.

So, a couple of question for anyone living in NYC. How much time should I allow for a cab ride out to LGA from SoHo for a 7:30am weekday flight? Also how much time to get through the AA terminal security.

All help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old Jul 14, 2009, 7:01 am

Programs: Continental Onepass, Hilton, Marriott, USAir and now UA
Originally Posted by berksmapexp
We are moving to NYC from Chicago in a couple of weeks (living in SoHo). I have been traveling on AA out of ORD for several years now and have the routine down to a science. With LGA, not so much.

So, a couple of question for anyone living in NYC. How much time should I allow for a cab ride out to LGA from SoHo for a 7:30am weekday flight? Also how much time to get through the AA terminal security.

It depends on how much time you need to feel comfortable before getting on the plane. I like to be at the airport 1 hour before the flight. In that case, with a 7:30 AM flight, going against traffic from downtown NYC, you should allow 20-30 minutes of drive time to get to LGA, another 15 minutes to get though security. So, I would leave 1 hr 45 min (conservative) or at 5:45 AM.
(BTW, I have never missed a flight due to my time scheduling errors.)
Old Jul 14, 2009, 7:14 am
Suspended

Programs: AAdvantage PP