Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Car Rental Programs and Ride Services > National | Emerald Club
Reload this Page >

Using a contract ID that you belong to but not for business

Old Aug 18, 2016, 3:41 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Alaska MVP, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold (Thanks Amex)

Hi all,

I am looking to do a quick one-way rental as a flight of mine was cancelled and I am not able to find a better one. I am a U of Oregon student and we have a National contract ID. The price using the contract ID is about 1/5th the full price.

Here's the catch: it includes the LDW, and while I am officially affiliated with the University of Oregon, I am not on official UO business. If I get in an accident, will this be an issue?

Thanks
Old Aug 18, 2016, 4:49 pm
Moderator: National Car

Programs: Delta PM, National EE, Hertz PC, Hilton DM
If you have to ask, you shouldn't do it.
Old Aug 18, 2016, 5:27 pm

Originally Posted by dwbf11
Helpful...

The way I see it, you're a paying student that attends a school which has a contract with National/Enterprise Holdings. I looked up the U of Oregon contract (it's readily available) and it says nothing about restrictions with regards to when the contract ID can be used.

Could there be an issue with the LDW? Possibly. Do you have your own car insurance/primary insurance on the credit card you used for the reservation? If you do, you should be all set either way.

I would say go for it. Like you said, it's a quick one-way. 99.9% chance you'll be fine.
Old Aug 18, 2016, 5:34 pm

Programs: AA Gold
Many contracts will extend your LDW for leisure travel as well as business travel. National does this with mine.
Old Aug 19, 2016, 12:03 am

Programs: National Exec, HA Pualani Gold
If it's this one here: http://ba.uoregon.edu/content/vehicle-rental

The Univeristy clearly states:

"These contracts are for use by UO employees or students only, who are on Official UO Business."