Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Which airline partners should you bank miles when flying with China Airlines?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 30, 2014, 10:39 am
Original Poster

Hi all,

A friend of mine is traveling to Taipei with his family of 8 ( 5 adults, 3 children) with China Airlines this summer from Vancouver, BC. They seldom travel, perhaps once every 2 or 3 years to Asia or the US. I am still new at collecting the points and miles. I was wondering where they could bank their miles or should they even bother at all. Can they earn miles with China Airlines partners for hotel deals?

Thanks for your help.
Old May 30, 2014, 11:27 am

Programs: DL PM; IHG PlatAmb; Hilton Dia; Marriott Plat; Hyatt Discoverist
Which airline parnters should you bank miles when flying with China Airlines?

it depends on the fare class. But most Skyteam partners are options. Delta miles are hard to use, but do not expire.
Old May 30, 2014, 11:56 am
Original Poster

They are flying in economy class.

They are Canadians and thus it is almost impossible to redeem for hotels on Delta website without utilizing a Delta Skymile Amex Card.
Old May 30, 2014, 10:16 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Jazz604 Welcome to FT
Have a look & ask here http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/infor...help-here.html

Certainly worth collecting some miles.
China Airlines is a Skyteam airline, as above. They may also be a partner of Hawaiian, so flying CA it may be possible to get HA miles (I have not checked)
http://www.china-airlines.com/en/club/club_mi_3.htm
http://www.china-airlines.com/en/club/club_mi_3a.htm
http://www.china-airlines.com/en/club/club_ha_en.pdf
Beware of low on nil miles earning on low cost fares

I would put to Delta, if the flight earns miles

Edit
Have looked at HA. You will need to find the fare booking class
http://www.hawaiianairlines.com/Hawa...-airlines.aspx