Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > MilesBuzz
Reload this Page >

New to Mileage Runs, Upgrades, Credit Card Churning, etc.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to Mileage Runs, Upgrades, Credit Card Churning, etc.

Search this Thread

Old Oct 17, 2012, 1:06 pm
Original Poster

Smile Where to begin? New to Mileage Runs, Upgrades, Credit Card Churning, etc.

Hey all,
I'm new to the game and wanted to know if someone can recommend a book or "all in one resource" for starting out? I would like to learn more about fare codes (and all those technical details), upgrades, credit card churning, maximizing frequent flyer miles, and the like without having to search through all the different forums and piecemeal it together. The Frugal travel guy website seems a bit too high level to really dive into it with. If someone knows a good launching point please let me know .

Thanks so much!

Last edited by mastermind85; Oct 17, 2012 at 1:55 pm
Old Oct 17, 2012, 2:21 pm
Moderator: Travel Buzz

The blogs and right here at flyertalk. You will have to search through the forums or the blog posts. There are many good blogs, but it will all take some effort to learn. Think of it as a textbook... if you read it, you will learn. If you don't read it, you won't. It may or may not be worth the trouble to you, but more than likely, all your answers are here if you look.
Old Oct 17, 2012, 3:46 pm

Programs: AA Exp, but not sure for how long. Enterprise Platinum woo-hoo!
Randy Petersen - who I believe was the founder of FlyerTalk - wrote a book. I can't say I remember the name, even though it's on my bookshelf at home.

However, a good deal of what's in it is dated. The world of travel hacking is infinitely complex, and there's just no way to encapsulate it all. I understand that it can seem daunting at first, it can seem a bit like trying to teach yourself French from a book that's written in French.