Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > MilesBuzz
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 10, 12, 10:13 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,412
AA/AS/BA Quandry

I have a ticket on hold on AS, using AA miles. That ticket (first class) costs me 37.5k miles. I have it on hold because there were only 2 seats left and I wanted to make sure I didn't lose out. I'm on a tight schedule and that's about the only flight that works.

Here is my quandry. I could book that flight for 25k Avios, which is my preference. But will BA see "zero" availability because of the hold I have through AA? Is there any way around this?
__________________
Check out Without Bacon, reviewing vegetarian options at top restaurants! And PM if you'd like to write for the blog.
crimson12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 12, 10:32 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,468
Go to AS site and see if you can find the low level award still available.

AA and BA can only book low level award on AS flight. If there is no more low level award then yes, you are holding up the availability to block your BA booking.

Granted, this is not a sure method because AS may have better availability for its own members so you would need to ask this in AS forum.
Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 12, 10:39 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX/PIT
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM, UA urine (PP), A3 *G, Hyatt Dia, AmEx Plat, *$G (Starbucks Gold)
Posts: 4,813
FYI, using Avios, AS flights are coded as First, not Business. So it would be 3x the price for first, not 2x. Don't know of any BA award levels that 8,333 miles, so you're likely looking at a 12.5K route.
__________________
I post on HackMyTrip | Twitter: @PointsToPointB | Trip Report: Singapore Airlines A380 Suites/NEW 77W First Class
amolkold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 12, 10:46 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,412
Ah, thanks amolkold. Using the "Avios calculator" I had put in "Business" but you're right, it's coded "First", and will cost me 37.5, same as AA. So I may as well just spend the AA and hang on to the Avios till later.
__________________
Check out Without Bacon, reviewing vegetarian options at top restaurants! And PM if you'd like to write for the blog.
crimson12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 12, 6:26 am   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Programs: DL, UA, AA, WN, Club Carlson, Marriott, IHG
Posts: 275
I'm curious. Is there still an effective way to do a quick switcheroo and spend down the Avios instead of the AA? I'd rather spend BA than AA, but maybe that's because I don't live around ORD or DFW et al!
centrifuge41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 12, 7:14 am   #6
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: By the landing strip.
Programs: UA, DL, AA, SPG
Posts: 1,412
Well one thing I realized is that my AS flight is in "first" class -- so it would cost me 12.5x3 = 37.5 Avios to make the trip, same as what AA wanted. I was thinking it would take 25k because I was thinking of it as "business" class. So there's not much of a savings there. Darn.
__________________
Check out Without Bacon, reviewing vegetarian options at top restaurants! And PM if you'd like to write for the blog.
crimson12 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:38 pm.