Netspend Reloadable Card

Subscribe
I am new and have been obsessing about miles, cash back, ect. I recently went to a gas station and bought a gas/merchandise card with my discover card. As it is there 5% cash back period for gas, I recieved 5% cash back for my $500 dollar gift card as it listed in the gas catagory.

I didn't see much info on Netspend but it seems to me like someone could purchase a net spend card at a gas station ( code for gas = earn 5%) and then simply use it to get cash from an atm (one of their options), put cash in your Bank account and pay off your cc. It's money laundering, but so is the mint trick. Again I have been obsessing about this. Seems like you can reload these thing at most places, walgreens, kmart, grocery stores, gas stations. You can take advantage of these category based rewards too.

I am a student and love deals but cant imagine a way to reach the bonuses on a cc when you have to spen 5000 in 6 months to get 10,000 miles.
If I have done the math right:

$3.95 to load the card at a gas station, up to $500 per transaction (https://www.netspend.com/account/dis...leValueWithPin)
$2.50 per ATM withdrawl (plus ATM owner fee, if any) (https://www.netspend.com/help/freque...uestions.shtml)
restriction of $325 per withdrawl and $940/day

If we give this a go with $1300, that means $21.85 in fees for 6500 miles or $0.0034 per mile. Sounds like you were using Discover, though - I believe that bonus category ended yesterday, and was capped at $1500 spend. Is there something I'm missing?
Points wise, these cards only make sense if any fees on the card are less than the value of the points earned and no other problems are created.

As far as spend goes, if you have a job where you put travel on your credit card and get reimbursed later, your CC spend will probably be higher than if you have to spend your own money.