Mar 3, 11, 7:32 am
#1
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LPI
Programs: SK *B (?)
Posts: 362
"Miles & More" scam e-mail
Interesting, I think this is the first time I've seen an FF program targetted by these kinds of scams. I received this yesterday:
Quote:
From: "Miles & More"<noreply@milesandmore.com>
Subject: Your booking confirmation
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Sent: 22 hours, 8 minutes, 26 seconds ago
X-Bogosity: Spam, tests=bogofilter, spamicity=1.000000, version=1.2.2
Thanks for the purchase!
Booking number: LVSN50
Your credit card has been charged for $493.67.
Please print PASSENGER ITINERARY RECEIPT by logging into your Miles account
by clicking the link below:
http://www.miles-and-more.com
On board you will be offered:
– Beverages;
– Food;
– Daily press.
You are guaranteed top-quality services and attention on the part of our benevolent personnel.
We recommend you to print PASSENGER ITINERARY RECEIPT and take it alone to the airport.
It will help you to pass control and registration procedures faster.
See you on board!
Best regards,
Miles & More
Of course, the link in the HTML e-mail does
not actually point to miles-and-more.com, but to a hijacked server in Argentina.
Mar 3, 11, 9:02 am
#2
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Asia
Programs: LH FTL, EB, AB, PS, VV, NH
Posts: 788
You've got PM.
__________________
Commuting between ITM and LWO @ government's expenses.
Mar 3, 11, 9:41 pm
#3
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: CO Platitude, LH SEN--, AA EXP
Posts: 15,167
If you log in and don't get the "der Zentralrechner ist zur Zeit nicht erreichbar..." intro, then you know it's something fishy.
Did you give it a try? What are they after? Simply the M&M login? Sounds like yet another looser scam.
__________________
o tempora o miles et mores
Mar 4, 11, 1:32 am
#4
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LPI
Programs: SK *B (?)
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by
weero
If you log in and don't get the "der Zentralrechner ist zur Zeit nicht erreichbar..." intro, then you know it's something fishy.
Did you give it a try? What are they after? Simply the M&M login? Sounds like yet another looser scam.
The link I got was already dead.
However, according to other reports, like
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Fake-...d-177840.shtml it's a drive-by attack. If you click on the link in the scam e-mail and you are running an unpatched Windows system, your computer will be compromised, and you will assimilated into the Zeus botnet:
https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikiped...rojan_horse%29
Mar 4, 11, 5:57 am
#5
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: CO Platitude, LH SEN--, AA EXP
Posts: 15,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by
lnixon
The link I got was already dead..
for trying
.
__________________
o tempora o miles et mores
Mar 4, 11, 6:32 am
#6
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LPI
Programs: SK *B (?)
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by
weero
for trying
.
I poked it gently with a stick. From a Linux system.
Mar 4, 11, 11:59 pm
#7
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: CO Platitude, LH SEN--, AA EXP
Posts: 15,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by
lnixon
I poked it gently with a stick. From a Linux system.
It is very tempting indeed.
So you reckon that the exploit could have been dangerous even when not using Outlook?
__________________
o tempora o miles et mores
Mar 5, 11, 2:28 am
#8
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LPI
Programs: SK *B (?)
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by
weero
It is very tempting indeed.
So you reckon that the exploit could have been dangerous even when not using Outlook?
I'm pretty sure the attack targetted IE; visit the page with an out-of-date browser - *blam*.
Mar 5, 11, 4:44 am
#9
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SIN/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: CO Platitude, LH SEN--, AA EXP
Posts: 15,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by
lnixon
I'm pretty sure the attack targetted IE; visit the page with an out-of-date browser - *blam*.
An out of date IE you mean.
With a 2 year old Opera you'd probably be just fine
...
__________________
o tempora o miles et mores
Mar 5, 11, 7:09 am
#10
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN, SAS EBG
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by
weero
It is very tempting indeed.
So you reckon that the exploit could have been dangerous even when not using Outlook?
According to this article
here , it was Neosploit trying to exploit a 0day in Adobe Acrobat (as always...)
Mar 5, 11, 9:33 am
#11
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LPI
Programs: SK *B (?)
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by
zara
According to this article
here , it was Neosploit trying to exploit a 0day in Adobe Acrobat (as always...)
Yeah, that's the other big contender.
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off