Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Help with one way fare

Help with one way fare

Old Oct 17, 2014, 8:05 pm
Original Poster

Help with one way fare

I need to get to Bali in the next 2 weeks. I am located in Calgary, Alberta CANADA. I have 40,000 Amex Points. I'm only going one way. Can anyone help me get the cheapest possible fair pleaseeee!!! It would mean the world to me. I'm really new at all this.

THANK YOU

Patrick.
Old Oct 17, 2014, 8:54 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: HH Silver
Welcome to FT!

While fare requests aren't normally the role of FT since your thread wasn't on topic for the Mileage Run Discussion forum I've relocated it here to the Information Desk which is a good place for new members to learn how the site works.

tcook052
Mileage Run Forum Moderator
Old Oct 17, 2014, 11:08 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by patbuk
I need to get to Bali in the next 2 weeks. I am located in Calgary, Alberta CANADA. I have 40,000 Amex Points. I'm only going one way. Can anyone help me get the cheapest possible fair pleaseeee!!! It would mean the world to me. I'm really new at all this.

THANK YOU

Patrick.
Step 1: Use an online travel agency, or matrix.itasoftware.com to determine what the cheapest one-way cash fare is.

Step 2: Determine if you can get a Coach-class award redemption using AA or UA miles. If so, determine what the cost would be to purchase the necessary miles, and pay any taxes/fees associated with the award redemption. (Hint: UA is currently offering a bonus on the purchase of their miles, which are redeemable on carriers like AC, OZ, SQ, and TG, some combination of which may be needed to get to DPS with UA miles.)

3. Compare the cost of #1 with the cost of #2. Voila!
Old Oct 18, 2014, 8:07 am