Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 28, 12, 6:45 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NYC, WAS, BOS
Programs: Bionic Program and all other
Posts: 66
UA: Philadelphia Rail ZFV-LAX $258 ai 4.6 cpm 4 segments

UA: Philadelphia to Los Angeles $258 ai 4.6 cpm 4 segments 5558 miles

ZFV-EWR-LAX-EWR-ZFV

Many dates available. Bookable on united.com.



bionicrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:07 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: HPN/FLL/DCA
Programs: US Chairman (0.132MM), DL dirt, A3, AA twig
Posts: 846
that connection time is WAY too low to trust to Amtrak. The NE Regional trains get delayed all the time by like 15-20 mins, and not to mention the time it takes to get from the airtrain stop to the terminal. I'd want at least another 90 minute buffer.
__________________
'13: DCA,CLT,FLL,HPN,LGA,SFO,RDU,PHL,BWI,LAX,SAN,EWR, BOS,SEA,DFW,ARN,PHX,MCO,ANC,BRW
'14: DCA,CLT,EWR,PDX,IAH,MXP
PaceLaw2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:30 pm   #3
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: PHL
Programs: UA 1K, MR Plat, Avis PC
Posts: 2,169
These have been available for some time up through mid May and then a similar price starting in September. They went this low when VX announced PHL-LAX/SFO and have remained low since. I booked PHL-LAX-IAH-PHL for $288
__________________

MileagePlus MM status: 518,055 Member since 2006

Last edited by nova08; Mar 29, 12 at 6:20 am..
nova08 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:34 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC, BOS, SFO
Programs: United: Gold (*G), Turkish Airlines: Elite (*G), HHonors: Gold, Marriott: Gold, AA, US, AGR
Posts: 341
Even though the itinerary says that EQMs are given for the Amtrak legs, I don't believe UA/CO gives EQMs for any trips on Amtrak anymore. So in total you would earn only 4,908 EQM, but you would at least get RDM for the Amtrak legs. Correct me if I'm wrong.
TakeTheATrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:35 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Trenton, NJ (PHL, EWR)
Programs: US Gold, AA/BA/DL/UA/SQ Nobody
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceLaw2012 View Post
that connection time is WAY too low to trust to Amtrak. The NE Regional trains get delayed all the time by like 15-20 mins, and not to mention the time it takes to get from the airtrain stop to the terminal. I'd want at least another 90 minute buffer.
+1

No way I'd ever chance that, even IF the train was on time. You need to catch the SkyTrain, that's at best 10 minutes. Then navigate from the train through security, that's at least 20 minutes. Now you have what, 22 minutes to make it to the gate and board? If everything goes perfectly?
FlyIgglesFly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:43 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Frankfurt, DE
Programs: UA1K MM, AA PLT, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 19,127
Unless that's the point!

Get rebooked in full Y for the next flight and actually get an upgrade!
__________________
Check out my travel blog at upgrd.com
MatthewLAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:47 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: HPN/FLL/DCA
Programs: US Chairman (0.132MM), DL dirt, A3, AA twig
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewLAX View Post
Unless that's the point!

Get rebooked in full Y for the next flight and actually get an upgrade!
I've never taken a codeshare Amtrak before, but I assume you get the same miscon/irrops protection? Although, given the way that COdbaUA is going, they'd probably charge you a change fee for the train being late, give you an upgrade, and then take it away to give it to someone "who hasn't experienced businessfirst before"
__________________
'13: DCA,CLT,FLL,HPN,LGA,SFO,RDU,PHL,BWI,LAX,SAN,EWR, BOS,SEA,DFW,ARN,PHX,MCO,ANC,BRW
'14: DCA,CLT,EWR,PDX,IAH,MXP
PaceLaw2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 7:52 pm   #8
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: VX Elevate, AA ExPlat, UA GS, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 4,641
I wonder if you can CPU a train segment. :-p

J/k....
edcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 8:56 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DCA
Programs: CO PL, DL PM
Posts: 57
So, what are the chances UA would void your ticket if you were to miss the ZFV-EWR portion of the "flight"? Could they know?
DCAmateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 9:05 pm   #10
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: VX Elevate, AA ExPlat, UA GS, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 4,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCAmateur View Post
So, what are the chances UA would void your ticket if you were to miss the ZFV-EWR portion of the "flight"? Could they know?
There are discussions about this but basically it is risky. They may or may not not void your trip out but eventually may cancel your return flight!
edcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:16 pm   #11
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Frankfurt, DE
Programs: UA1K MM, AA PLT, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 19,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCAmateur View Post
So, what are the chances UA would void your ticket if you were to miss the ZFV-EWR portion of the "flight"? Could they know?
Very small risk, IMO.
__________________
Check out my travel blog at upgrd.com
MatthewLAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:16 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Frankfurt, DE
Programs: UA1K MM, AA PLT, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 19,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceLaw2012 View Post
I've never taken a codeshare Amtrak before, but I assume you get the same miscon/irrops protection? Although, given the way that COdbaUA is going, they'd probably charge you a change fee for the train being late, give you an upgrade, and then take it away to give it to someone "who hasn't experienced businessfirst before"
LOL. Sad but true...
__________________
Check out my travel blog at upgrd.com
MatthewLAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:25 pm   #13
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: DCA
Programs: CO PL, DL PM
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewLAX View Post
Very small risk, IMO.
I'm just curious how they could know if a passenger hadn't ridden the train. At least from my recollection, Amtrak doesn't scan tickets/boarding passes. So long as either a paper ticket has been issued or a boarding pass printed, how could Amtrak know whether you had taken the trip?

Now, it might be a problem to show up for check-in Newark and have an agent discover, if possible, that the train is delayed and has yet to arrive.
DCAmateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:31 pm   #14
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Frankfurt, DE
Programs: UA1K MM, AA PLT, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 19,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCAmateur View Post
I'm just curious how they could know if a passenger hadn't ridden the train. At least from my recollection, Amtrak doesn't scan tickets/boarding passes. So long as either a paper ticket has been issued or a boarding pass printed, how could Amtrak know whether you had taken the trip?

Now, it might be a problem to show up for check-in Newark and have an agent discover, if possible, that the train is delayed and has yet to arrive.
Exactly, and a clever agent may do just that, but it is very unlikely. Amtrak does not scan BPs...
__________________
Check out my travel blog at upgrd.com
MatthewLAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 12, 11:35 pm   #15
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: EWR but I love to go to TXL!
Posts: 205
I skipped the last EWR-ZFV segment on an itinerary I had back in November and got no RDM for it.. Don't know if somehow I just got unlucky, or if there is a way they can check.
Bigzamboni is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 pm.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.