Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Middle East including Egypt > Middle East
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 9, 08, 9:04 am   #1
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Passport stamped for Transit in Dubai or Bahrain?

If you transit in Dubai airport (DXB) with Emirates or transit in Bahrain with Gulf Air, does security stamp your passport if you are just connecting with another flight and not leaving the airport?

In Singapore and many others, for example, they stamp your passport even if you are in transit. For Tokyo, they do not stamp your passport as long as you stay in the transit area.

Thanks!
masia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 08, 9:14 am   #2
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by masia View Post
IIn Singapore and many others, for example, they stamp your passport even if you are in transit.
Is this incorrect? I was in Singapore earlier this week. Flights arrive at gates where you have access to the shopping areas. You also have access to the gates of the departing flights. Security is done at the departing gates. Customs and immigration is way beyond the shopping areas on the level beneath it.
797-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 08, 3:16 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
You are correct depending on the terminal. The example I was giving was if you had to connect in Singapore to one of the budget airlines like Tigerairways or CebuAir to another international desitnation (we were flying from Thailand to Darwin Australia via Singapore). This is a different terminal (Terminal B) than the main terminals (T1,T2,T3) and they make you go through immigration first before transit even though it is the same airport and it is an international flight. For for T1,T2,T3 you do not have to go through immigration but if you arrive in T1, T2, T3 and have to transit to Terminal B then you have to go through immigration. This is what happened to us.

Sorry for over generalizing Singapore airport.

More info from their webiste:

http://www.changiairport.com/changi/...nsit_faqs.html

"(b) If you are connecting to or from a budget airline flight :

As budget airlines do not have transfer counters in the Transit Hall, you have to ensure that you have the valid travel documents (passport, visa etc) into to clear Customs and Immigration into Singapore. You have to collect your baggage and check-in again at the Departure Hall of your connecting flight.
If you are connecting to Tiger Airways or Cebu Pacific Air, please proceed to Terminal 2 Basement to catch the free shuttle service to the Budget Terminal. You may visit the Budget Terminal website for further information.
For the location of our transfer counters, you can see our Inter-Terminal Transfer Map.
"

Another example would be Kinabalu,, Malaysia. On a flight from the Philipines to Kinabalu, Malaysia, we had to go through immigration before we could get on a flight to Bangkok. Pretty small airport though.
masia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 08, 3:39 pm   #4
GK
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: back in UK after many years on the road
Programs: reformed ex basic Member
Posts: 3,122
if you are transiting in either Dubai or Bahrain then there is no immigration control.. just regular airport security check.. if you are planning on a transit stopover.. then yes, you'll enter either country as usual.
GK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 08, 4:19 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Yes,now you can even transfer to other airport
http://www.sharjahairport.ae/transferandtransit.htm

It was not possible before / no visa-no stamps.

There is guarded transfer by bus.
Amaras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 3:34 am.