Community
Wiki Posts
Search

5 hours at IAD- passing the time?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20, 2017, 11:40 am
Original Poster

5 hours at IAD- passing the time?

I am flying into IAD and meeting up with colleagues flying in from overseas. My flight arrives around 9AM while theirs is not scheduled to arrive until around 1PM (plus they'll have to clear immigration). I am gold with VS and my first thought was to pass the time there but since I am not flying in on Virgin I will not be able to access their lounge.

Are there any lounges at IAD where I could purchase a day pass?
Failing that any suggestions for a reasonable spot post security to pass some time and get some work done?

Thanks in advance.
Old Apr 20, 2017, 12:44 pm

There are a couple of lounges that you might want to look at. Just a FYI, though, I have no experience buying a pass for these or using on arrival, as I have access through other means and DC is usually my final destination.

You can definitely buy a United Club pass- $59, and the t/c say that is same day arrivals/departures are eligible to purchase. In my experience these are average lounges.

Lounge Buddy looks like they will also sell access to the TK/LH lounges too. I have no experience with them or the LH lounge, but Turkish only asks me what airline I'm departing on when using my PP (they haven't asked for a BP yet). The Turkish lounge is very nice, and around lunchtime has some fairly solid offerings.

https://www.loungebuddy.com/IAD
Old Apr 20, 2017, 1:10 pm
Suspended

Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
There are also lots of nooks and crannies at IAD. At that time of day, you ought to be able to just find one and grab a work station if that is what you want to do.

If you are adventurous, the Smithsonian Air & Space annex out there is a quick bus ride from IAD and opens at 10 AM. There are lockers for carry-on.
Old Apr 21, 2017, 6:38 am
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge

Programs: Free Agent