Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Mexico
Reload this Page >

One Way ticket into Mexico [insufficient for airline agents and Mexico immigration]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

One Way ticket into Mexico [insufficient for airline agents and Mexico immigration]

Search this Thread

Old Mar 6, 2014, 3:34 pm
Original Poster

I have been purchasing ow tickets msn-cun for the last several years. Basically don't know when or where I will be returning. This year (Jan 4) the delta madison baggage desk did not want to let me go because I was lacking onward ticket. I explained that I am taking the bus to Guatemala. After some discussion and calls to "headquaters". They let me go.

Two weeks later, a buddy was doing same trip and they made him buy a return ticket at the airport (24 hour cancelable with 35usd in person booking fee).

Anybody with similar experience. Did they let me go since I am a Delta Million Miler? Really a bummer for flexible independent travelers.

PS absolute no problem/questions at Cancun immigration ..15 seconds at most. Leaving mexico march 15 via bus and will stay in Guatemala for a couple of weeks.
Old Mar 7, 2014, 6:04 am
Marriott Contributor Badge

This has happened to me once w/ American Airlines about 4 years ago but I caught it before getting to the airport when I called in to reconfirm. I have seen discussion about it on other forums and it really is ambiguous whether it is a real Mexican immigration issue or a hard nosed check-in agent interpreting the rules.

FWIW...I have flown in numerous times since then on a OW ticket into Mexico.I have never been questioned about my lack of return by US airline agents or Mexican immigration since that one time.
Old Mar 7, 2014, 3:09 pm

Programs: enjoyed being warm spit for a few years on CO/UA but now nothing :(