Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Marriott | Rewards
Reload this Page >

Elite member booking room for spouse?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 9, 2016, 6:33 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, HH Diamond

Hi,

Sorry total noob here when it comes to hotel reward programs. But can my wife (who is a Marriott Gold) book hotel rooms (with credit card, not points) for me when she will not be present? And if so, will she still collect the points from the room normally and will her elite status apply to me?

Thanks
Old May 9, 2016, 6:52 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Originally Posted by Winkdaddy
Hi,

Sorry total noob here when it comes to hotel reward programs. But can my wife (who is a Marriott Gold) book hotel rooms (with credit card, not points) for me when she will not be present? And if so, will she still collect the points from the room normally and will her elite status apply to me?

Thanks
Membership benefits are for the member, not everyone they know. Properties have been known to mess up and things happen, but she is not entitled to credit for the stay, nor are you entitled to her benefits.
Old May 9, 2016, 7:12 pm
Original Poster

Is this true even if I am registered as a "2nd guest" and authorized to check in and out?
Old May 9, 2016, 9:18 pm

Practically, if she books the room with her account and calls to add you as a 2nd guest, you will enjoy her elite status benefit (e.g., room upgrade and free breakfast) and points will be credited to her account. I have done this many time without any issues.

Note that I read some reports that, in some rare circumstances (such as some hotels in Japan), the front desk might ask the account owner to present him/herself before checkout, otherwise the rate will be changed to the "standard rate" (whatever that means) and points/stay credit will be forfeited.