Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Manufactured Spending
Sign in using an external account

    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 11, 14, 10:22 am   -   Wikipost
FlyerTalk Forums Thread Wiki: PIN available now for Visa/MC prepaid debit cards.
Please read: this is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread.
 
Last edit by: grayland

A recent Federal Reserve interpretation of Dodd-Frank financial reform regulations has resulted in Visa/MC gift cards getting PINs as of April 1, 2013.

Note that there has been no reported success of using PIN enabled GCs at the post office for MOs. (Last confirmed January 2013)
Walmart has a high success rate and other have reported success at their local supermarket.

Visas have been reported to work significantly better than MC at WM registers. MC GC's require pressing a button (quickly) to change the payment type to debit. Without hitting the change payment type button, the cards are recognized as credit and denied.

Detailed steps by slickpokerdealer to use MC GCs at WM registers
Originally documented here

  1. Give your blue bird and ask cashier to load $200 (or whatever the MC value is)
  2. Once the cashier enters the amount, the system (CC Swipe Machine or Pin Pad Machine) will ask for your confirmation on the amount. Confirm that.
  3. Now swipe your Master Card
  4. Before the cashier makes the move, you have to press the "cancel" button on the display screen. That's the trick. You will have just a second or two to react. So, be ready to press "cancel" as soon as you swipe your mastercard gift card. If you have new swipe machine, it might show you "change payment" along with "cancel" option. In this case, try "change payment".
  5. Now it will show you the option to choose "ATM/Debit" and the system will run it as a debit and will immediately prompt you to enter the pin.
  6. Key in the PIN you would have set for your MC (I always call and set the pin number in advance) and press "Enter" or "Ok" on keypad
  7. Transaction will be approved


One particular MC GC has given several members issues and should be avoided. It is the Celebrate card isued by US Bank. While the PIN can be set, it is consistently denied by WM registers. It can be seen here:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/20970219-post1788.html (NOTE: This no longer seems to be the case, and a number of members have been having no issues with these.)

Setting PINS
  • Visa issued by US Bank - Must call in to set the PIN (866-952-5653). There have also been reports of newer cards with a pre-assigned PIN, which is printed on cardstock and included in the package.
  • Visa issued by MetaBank - Use the last four digits of the card number (or to set personal PIN call 888-524-1283)
  • Vanilla Visa and OneVanilla (not MyVanilla, etc) - Use any random four digits on the first transaction which sets the PIN
  • MC issued by US Bank - Must call to set PIN


One other note: When splitting transactions among multiple cards at a Walmart register for billpay, money orders, bluebird, etc., make sure you have the cashier hit the debit button on their keypad (with actual keys). If they hit debit button on the touchscreen, it will not work. I am not sure why, but I have had this problem several times. If your transaction got declined, try having the cashier hit 'Debit' using the physical keypad on the right of the screen.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26, 13, 6:21 am   #1426
TalkBoard Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BOS, MHT
Programs: AA ltg, DL, UA, US, AS, SPG Gold, HH Diamond, Marriott
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetBrowser07 View Post
At our local Walmart, the MoneyExpress ATM is always closed (the message on the screen says 'CLOSED'). The customer service person always give me a hard time about the gift cards and they never go through. It's possible they may be pressing the wrong items (debit/credit) but there is no way to tell. Just ranting because I'm stuck with a bunch of GCs now..
Try another store like kroger or harris teeter or rite aid for mos
You have a pin so if they know how to hit debit these should work
__________________
Do please read my thoughts, ideas, reports and babblings on http://mileageupdate.com/ --and thank you to everyone who voted for me for TalkBoard!
Marathon Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 8:24 am   #1427
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: WN, GP, UA
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightNurse View Post
First off this thread isn't about you... So please get over yourself.
Second, this thread is very long and info get's buried so instead of reading hundreds of post it is easier for someone to just ask a question.
Lastly, this thread isn't about you, so please get over yourself.
My bad...didn't know people couldn't read.
ricohitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 9:12 am   #1428
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT USA
Programs: AA PLT+2MM / DL PM+1MM / A3 *G / SPG Gold / Fairmont LT Plat / Ritz Gold / IHG Plat RA
Posts: 3,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricohitman View Post
Can we please keep the posts to info that hasn't already been stated. It seems the error messages are similar. Unless you have a new development please stop extending the length of this thread. Check your BB loads. Check that you have the right pin number. If and only if those things have been met post data points.
I, and I suspect others, find it helpful to understand the severity / pervasiveness of a problem and do not mind multiple confirmatory posts. If one person posts an issue, for all we know, it could be user error. If three post in close succession, that is far less likely.
__________________
Report: Korean Air A380 First Class
Read my Tweets
NYBanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 9:20 am   #1429
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT USA
Programs: AA PLT+2MM / DL PM+1MM / A3 *G / SPG Gold / Fairmont LT Plat / Ritz Gold / IHG Plat RA
Posts: 3,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenalman View Post
that calculation includes the ~400 annual fee?
Perhaps they have the card for other benefits??
__________________
Report: Korean Air A380 First Class
Read my Tweets
NYBanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 9:54 am   #1430
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 12,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetBrowser07 View Post
At our local Walmart, the MoneyExpress ATM is always closed (the message on the screen says 'CLOSED'). The customer service person always give me a hard time about the gift cards and they never go through. It's possible they may be pressing the wrong items (debit/credit) but there is no way to tell. Just ranting because I'm stuck with a bunch of GCs now..
Ask the clerk to run it through their card reader. That solved the problem for me at the WM I went to.
PaulMSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 12:21 pm   #1431
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Programs: UA MPE, BA Blue, AAdvantage, IHG Plat Ambassador, Marriot Silver, HHonors Silver, Alamo
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetBrowser07 View Post
At our local Walmart, the MoneyExpress ATM is always closed (the message on the screen says 'CLOSED'). The customer service person always give me a hard time about the gift cards and they never go through. It's possible they may be pressing the wrong items (debit/credit) but there is no way to tell. Just ranting because I'm stuck with a bunch of GCs now..
Search out another WM.
Bender464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 12:30 pm   #1432
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 774
This morning, the CSR at my local WM successfully loaded two Chase GCs to my Bluebird..... the same place I was rejected last week. It is always worth a second try.....
Steve in Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 1:20 pm   #1433
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightNurse View Post
First off this thread isn't about you... So please get over yourself.
Second, this thread is very long and info get's buried so instead of reading hundreds of post it is easier for someone to just ask a question.
Lastly, this thread isn't about you, so please get over yourself.
You don't even see your own hypocrisy, do you?
theacolyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 2:08 pm   #1434
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LAX
Programs: UA/AA
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve in Olympia View Post
This morning, the CSR at my local WM successfully loaded two Chase GCs to my Bluebird..... the same place I was rejected last week. It is always worth a second try.....
I loaded multiple cards on my Bluebird this morning, and all is working well.
jaymar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 3:36 pm   #1435
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymar01 View Post
I loaded multiple cards on my Bluebird this morning, and all is working well.
same here, drove by 2 WMs, $500 to BB at one locations by service desk, another $500 at another location by ATM
tommy14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 4:51 pm   #1436
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 320
Has anyone had issues with the kiosk needing a store login to continue to process? I posted an episode I just had loading my BB and my GB (as well as my wife's GB card) at a kiosk yesterday.

It seems to me that the kiosk was requesting a login due to multiple high denomination loads taking place at the kiosk regardless of the owner of the card trying to do the transaction. Anyone have similar experiences?
BenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 4:59 pm   #1437
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CVG
Programs: Hyatt Giraffe
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenH View Post
Has anyone had issues with the kiosk needing a store login to continue to process? I posted an episode I just had loading my BB and my GB (as well as my wife's GB card) at a kiosk yesterday.

It seems to me that the kiosk was requesting a login due to multiple high denomination loads taking place at the kiosk regardless of the owner of the card trying to do the transaction. Anyone have similar experiences?
Lots of reports of this in the chase gift card thread, you should check it out. I can confirm personally too. Anything over $2k at my usual walmart locks the kiosk down, needing an assistant.
sam_goh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 5:24 pm   #1438
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: BA, UA, US, AA
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenH View Post
Has anyone had issues with the kiosk needing a store login to continue to process? I posted an episode I just had loading my BB and my GB (as well as my wife's GB card) at a kiosk yesterday.

It seems to me that the kiosk was requesting a login due to multiple high denomination loads taking place at the kiosk regardless of the owner of the card trying to do the transaction. Anyone have similar experiences?
Several people, me included, have reported the same experience: 3 x $500 load fine, the fourth requires a store log in.

YMMV regarding getting an employee to log in and reset the machine.
jools1006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 6:43 pm   #1439
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetBrowser07 View Post
At our local Walmart, the MoneyExpress ATM is always closed (the message on the screen says 'CLOSED'). The customer service person always give me a hard time about the gift cards and they never go through. It's possible they may be pressing the wrong items (debit/credit) but there is no way to tell. Just ranting because I'm stuck with a bunch of GCs now..
It is most likely they hit the wrong button.

Today my very competent very friendly cashier hit the wrong button (because of her elaborately decorated artificial long nails) and the thing spit out the Debit Not Available error 51 chit. But since she is very competent, she immediately knows what is wrong. She re-did it and told me to swipe again. It went right thru. I loaded 1 BB with 2 Chase GCs and 1 BB with 1 Chase GC + 1 Vanilla GC. 2 Transactions.

I normally did 2 GCs on one transaction, simple and easy. And I never use Kiosk always at the desk whether it is Money Center or the regular CS desk when it is not a SuperCenter.

The key is NOT to visit on a Pay Day or the following 2 days. The week that leads to the Pay Day, there is No Line. Such as today despite it is a Sunday around 1pm, there was no line when I dropped by. In fact my favorite cashier was walking outside the Money Center and I grabbed her back in.

For those of you who want to use the Kiosks, may be you want to give a 10 min break between loads - take a walk around the store and consider it as your exercise, then come back to finish the remaining - try this, probably would work and no need to get an employee to re-set the machine.

Last edited by Happy; May 26, 13 at 6:55 pm..
Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 13, 7:31 pm   #1440
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy View Post
For those of you who want to use the Kiosks, may be you want to give a 10 min break between loads - take a walk around the store and consider it as your exercise, then come back to finish the remaining - try this, probably would work and no need to get an employee to re-set the machine.
Nope. Tried walking around two stores today. It seems, once the red light is on, it stays on until the associates turn it off.
bubble o bill is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:23 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.