Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Future of Japan

Search this Thread

Old Sep 10, 2017, 8:41 pm
Original Poster

Future of Japan

This is to vent mostly, but I'd also like to hear what people think. I'm not an expert in economics or sociology, nor do I want to divulge personal details. So I apologize in advance if I can't provide much in the way of details or any meaningful counterpoint subsequently in this thread. And please correct me if any of my points are misguided. I'd just like to vent and then hear what more insightful people have to say in relation to this.

We've been interested in moving back to Jpn for a while. I'm in US in a line of work where US is arguably the global leader. If I could get a job related to my field in Jpn, my pay would be far lower than just about all other places I could go to. Even then I'm willing to consider moving there, cuz it's my homeland. But the interest isn't mutual. It seems the barriers are Jpn's regulations and my age (>35yo). Headhunters in Jpn have slammed the door on me, admitting that Jpn is still very closed. I could get a job in so many other first-world countries. But in theory, I should clearly be of most use to Jpn since I speak English and Japanese fluently. Doesn't matter.

Jpn has these problems: declining population, increasing % of elderly (with high life expectancy), burgeoning debt, increasing natural disasters.

So then bring in immigrants, right? And the reality is many sectors of Jpn now depend on immigrants, yet Jpn remains xenophobic and will not make their acceptance official. They accept <50 refugees a year. If you participate in Japanese people's forums like I do, the amount of xenophobia expressed is disgusting. The overwhelming sentiment is that foreigners are not welcome no matter what the macroeconomics dictate.