Reload this Page >

First time Japan and on business

Old Mar 14, 2015, 3:31 pm
Original Poster

Programs: SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, United Premier Exec, Virgin Gold

Hi

I am due to be visiting Japan in June touring a lot of the Toyota sites. It's my first time in Japan, and while we've received a lot of paperwork on what to do and what not to do, I wonder if there is any informal things that I need to know, about surviving the two weeks with my CEO and how it make the trip successful and be received well.

We start off in Nagoya, then Kyota and then Tokyo.

Many thanks

A
Old Mar 14, 2015, 3:44 pm

Programs: Delta P, SPG G, Marriott S, Hertz PC
Keep in mind, if you are there on business, you not only represent yourself, but also your ceo and the entire company.

Make your ceo look good and you are set.

View some website for japanese culture nuisances. You are a guest in their country, make an effort to at least know the customs and perhaps learn a few key phrases in japanese.
Old Mar 14, 2015, 4:39 pm

Programs: UA AA MR HH B6
well, no tipping is something you might want to get used to. Also, Japanese people don't handshake too often, but bow instead. Some places expect you to take shoes off before entering. Don't pour your own drink, and when someone's glass is empty, fill it for them. There's lots others I'm sure.
Old Mar 14, 2015, 4:57 pm

Programs: Former UA Premex, now dirt
I'll second the "no tipping" advice. It is actually a bit rude to try to insist.

Also, be aware that June is the rainy season. Be prepared for a lot of it off and on during your stay. If you get caught without an umbrella, pop into any convenience store - 7-11, Lawsons, Family Mart, several others. They will have throw-away plastic umbrellas for a couple hundred yen (less than $2.00.) "Konbinis" are located in almost every block.