Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Japan
Sign in using an external account

Old Mar 31, 12, 5:47 am   #1

Ideas on Japan Trip for May 2012

Hi all,

I am planning a trip to Japan for 3 weeks in May 2012 and would appreciate any ideas or advice on where to go and how to do it. I have been reading posts throughout this blog and have already gotten so much useful information. Thankyou in advance for any responses.

More details:
I am going for Japan to both experience the culture I have learnt about in studies and to complete a minor research thesis on contemporary Japanese culture. I am travelleling with my partner form Australia, we are both in our early 30's and neither of us have been to Japan before or speak the language. I have some limited experience at travelleing though my partner has much more. We are also on a limited budget so looking to maximise cost effectiveness where possible. We will have a minimal amount of luggage (A backpack each) and have no problems walking around and taking in the sights.

Itinerary so far:
Arriving in Narita on 8th May and staying two nights in Narita (hotel booked).
Have a hotel booked for 3 days in Kyoto 13th-15th and hoping to go to the Aoi festival on the 15th.
Also keen on the Sanja Matsuri festival back in Tokyo 18th-20th and the sumo competition that ends on the 20th.
Staying in Narita again on 24th and 25th before flying back to Sydney on the 26th May.

So now I need to fill in some of the other blanks.

My main question: Where would you go and what would you do in this time to have a great experience of Japan?

Some specific questions:
Best way to travel to Kyoto from Narita or Tokyo? Is the bullet JR train the way to go? or maybe an overnight bus or 5 day Willer bus pass?

Should we stay in Tokyo for a couple of days and get to Kyoto by the 13th or get to Kyoto straight away and spend more time there (maybe somewhere else entirely)?