Search

Absolute Newbie - need powerful magic from the masters

Search this Thread

Old Sep 13, 2014, 5:24 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Miles and More, One World, Sky Team

Hi Everybody!

I joined this forum after I just broke down and gave up on trying to book a December Winter break vacation for my family anywhere interesting using my multiple Miles and More & Sky Team miles.

I even downloaded KVS tool and tried to use it to no avail. No seats anywhere
that I would care to go.

So here I am. I have a few hundred thousand miles on each of the above mentioned. I would like to be able to use them for free airfare, or cruises somewhere interesting for next summer.

Please forgive my ignorance, but how do the "big boys" do it. Can somebody share some of the magic?

*** Sheepish grin ***

Simon
Old Sep 13, 2014, 6:03 pm

Programs: American, Delta, JetBlue, United
Welcome to FT!

The first step, which is indispensable, is to be very specific about how many miles you have in each program to which you belong. The next step, also indispensable, is to indicate as exactly as possible 1) where you wish to go, 2) when you wish to go there (December winter break is far too vague), and 3) how large your family is. Only then can people offer helpful advice.

Cruises next summer are an entirely different matter. It's best to stick to one question at a time.
Old Sep 13, 2014, 6:37 pm
Moderator: Hilton Honors, Practical Travel Safety Issues & San Francisco

Programs: UA, Hilton, Priceline, AirBnB
also where you are leaving FROM

and what other airports you would consider. I'm guessing SFO, OAK, SJC?
Old Sep 13, 2014, 6:44 pm

Where are you leaving from and where are you wanting to go?
Old Sep 13, 2014, 9:44 pm

Programs: AF/KL Plat for Life, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Accor Diamond, Avis PC, Hertz PC