Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

Getting to Diamond Via Stays Versus Nights

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 4, 2015, 2:43 pm
Original Poster

Hi,

I'm a relative newbie with what might be a simple question - I couldn't find an answer anywhere. I'm planning to qualify for Diamond for the first time this year. I've read in a number places (mostly blogs) that it's "easier" to qualify via the 25 stays versus the 50 nights, and I was wondering why that would be. Right now based on my travel patters I'm finding it much easier to do via nights, although it's going to take a long time (10+ months).

Do people move hotels each night during a stay? Neither my employer nor my family would tolerate that too well. Mattress runs? Just making sure I'm not missing something.

Thanks
Old Feb 4, 2015, 2:52 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
It depends on your travel patterns. For some it's easier on stays, for others, on nights. I can think of at least a few posters here that do it on nights.

And yes, some people do move hotels every night if they're making it on stays.

Or they start doing mattress runs early in the year when they find inexpensive properties they can use.

Keep in mind that those blogs are mostly opinions - and out to get you to sign up for a credit card

Generally speaking, here is where you'll get the low down ^^

Last edited by Mary2e; Feb 4, 2015 at 2:57 pm
Old Feb 4, 2015, 3:13 pm
Original Poster

Thanks! So many bloggers made reference to stays being better, I was sure I was missing something.

I'd have no problem moving every night when I travel for work, but I know our expense accounting department would have a fit.
Old Feb 4, 2015, 3:17 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt