FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Hyatt | World of Hyatt (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt-418/)
-   -   Andaz Maui REVIEW - MASTER THREAD (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/hyatt-world-hyatt/1499414-andaz-maui-review-master-thread.html)

pickles1107 Feb 6, 2016 5:40 pm

Here now for a quick 3 night stay. We used one of my wife's free credit card nights and two nights cash plus points with DSU. Like the poster above, we were further upgraded to ocean view suite for all three nights. Very appreciated. Breakfast is a good as ever - love the pancakes! Still find it odd that they ask if it is my first time to Maui at check in every time ... "No, this is our third stay at your property".

canyonleo Feb 8, 2016 8:24 am

The pancakes are very good, I wonder what makes them so unique in taste/texture (heavy egg? light egg? water/milk mixture? temp of grill?)?

slippahs Feb 8, 2016 4:52 pm

Originally Posted by canyonleo (Post 26151369)
The pancakes are very good, I wonder what makes them so unique in taste/texture (heavy egg? light egg? water/milk mixture? temp of grill?)?

We suspected that they were mochi pancakes:

http://en.rocketnews24.com/2015/04/1...ooker-to-make/

canyonleo Feb 8, 2016 5:04 pm

No, while they do make both mochi and regular (at least for waffles), and I love mochi in general (be it in udon, nimono, oden or mochi ice cream, the latter is more an L.A. thing than Japanese I'll guess as I can never find it in Japan other than cheap convenience store stuff) it wasn't mochi pancakes but the regular ones that I liked so much from the Andaz, and I wonder how they make it that I found it so unique tasting.

pickles1107 Feb 9, 2016 9:33 pm

Back from our weekend in Maui. Beyond the suite upgrade that I mentioned previously, a couple of other notes.