Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotel Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 09, 1:40 pm   #31
I Voted
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maineiac, USA
Posts: 235
Hmmmm.... this $1 deal is not even showing up on the homepage of the site when it was before... coincidence?
lo2e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 1:45 pm   #32
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Programs: SPG Plat, DL Ag, HH Silver, Nat'l Exec, Marriott Silver, PADI AOW, NASTAR Bronze
Posts: 3,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by lo2e View Post
Hmmmm.... this $1 deal is not even showing up on the homepage of the site when it was before... coincidence?
Check again. Refresh your browser to see the ads change.
__________________
Google Earth for Starwood and Hyatt
journeysearcher.com
sc flier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 1:58 pm   #33
I Voted
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maineiac, USA
Posts: 235
Ah, now it's there.... thanks, sc flier.
lo2e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 4:21 pm   #34
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Word is spreading quickly on this deal. Our chances of booking fast enough are a lot lower now that sites like SD are opening doors to the hordes. At least I can have reason to be a lot more "realistic" about getting in on this over the next week.
Vapno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 7:05 pm   #35
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Destin, FL
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapno View Post
Word is spreading quickly on this deal. Our chances of booking fast enough are a lot lower now that sites like SD are opening doors to the hordes. At least I can have reason to be a lot more "realistic" about getting in on this over the next week.
that's a shame that everybody is finding out about this deal. i hope their servers don't crash. i'm looking forward more to this sale than i do to christmas.
what is the name of the site that you refer to as "SD?" sorry, i'm new to all these forums.
fsuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 7:13 pm   #36
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Finland/Philippines
Programs: LH SEN, DL Silver, TK Classic, Marriott Gold, PC Gold, SPG Platinum, ABC Hotel VIP
Posts: 1,390
slickdeals.net I guess.
LH747FTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 09, 7:25 pm   #37
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Body in Phoenix, Thoughts in Hawaii
Programs: CO, HA, US (elite level Tin)
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsuga View Post
As I posted earlier, the lady I talked to in their customer service dept said it will begin the last week in January, which is the 26th.
I've also read some stuff on other sites where they talk about a sale very similar to this one that they did in Europe a little while back. $10 (or pound) rooms. And from what I saw, it appeared to work. Here's hoping the same happens for us.

Travelodge UK ran that special, starting at midnight Dec. 31. It took me about 2 hours of trying before I was able to get onto their page (otherwise, server busy)

Didn't find a 9 pound room, but did get one for 19 X 3 nights, $84 ai, central London. Made boss very happy.
Princess1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 09, 4:34 am   #38
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CEG, United Kingdom.
Posts: 24
Hi all,

I think it was the £10 www.lastminute.com special offer days that the poster was talking about not Travelodge.
That 'lastminute' is a totally separate company to the lastminutetravel.com that are holding this $1 sale. lastminute.com are part of another big company (travelocity if I remember correctly, on PDA so can't check or open another browser window now I've started typing this!).

I get so flippin' nervous when these promos surface, was posting on here and actively shaking sat in the local library on the website during the Leading hotels deal when the website crash happened.
Better luck this time to those that weren't successful on that one (inc. me)

Caroline, in the UK.
crd3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 09, 7:26 pm   #39
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Body in Phoenix, Thoughts in Hawaii
Programs: CO, HA, US (elite level Tin)
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by crd3000 View Post
Hi all,

I think it was the £10 www.lastminute.com special offer days that the poster was talking about not Travelodge.
That 'lastminute' is a totally separate company to the lastminutetravel.com that are holding this $1 sale. lastminute.com are part of another big company (travelocity if I remember correctly, on PDA so can't check or open another browser window now I've started typing this!).

I get so flippin' nervous when these promos surface, was posting on here and actively shaking sat in the local library on the website during the Leading hotels deal when the website crash happened.
Better luck this time to those that weren't successful on that one (inc. me)

Caroline, in the UK.
Ah, missed that one! Darn it, now maybe my deal could have been a better one... will stew about this uselessly.

So what am I supposed to do, check my email every 10 minutes? I'm starting to feel complusive here.
Princess1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 09, 9:27 pm   #40
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Princess1 View Post
I'm starting to feel complusive here.
Welcome to the club.
Vapno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 09, 9:44 pm   #41
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: DCAs in walking distance
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 201
Just got this msg, but I don't even know if it's a clue or just a delaying email to keep me intrigued: "Can you keep a secret? Because I can't.

I’ve been around the world – a JetSetter of sorts – and I’m here to spill my Last Minute Travel secrets. I’ve been told I’m a know-it-all, so, ready or not, here come all my travel tips, like how to get a deal and when to look for a steal!

Don’t worry, I’ll watch for the Last Minute deals and keep you posted! Until next time!

JetSetter"

You all get that when you signed up, or is there a hint concealed within?
LornaV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 09, 11:28 pm   #42
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Destin, FL
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by LornaV View Post
Just got this msg, but I don't even know if it's a clue or just a delaying email to keep me intrigued: "Can you keep a secret? Because I can't.

I’ve been around the world – a JetSetter of sorts – and I’m here to spill my Last Minute Travel secrets. I’ve been told I’m a know-it-all, so, ready or not, here come all my travel tips, like how to get a deal and when to look for a steal!

Don’t worry, I’ll watch for the Last Minute deals and keep you posted! Until next time!

JetSetter"

You all get that when you signed up, or is there a hint concealed within?
That's odd. I registered 4 different emails with them, and haven't gotten anything like that. Nor has my girlfriend or sister who I just checked with. If you get anything else, keep us posted. That seems odd...
fsuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 09, 9:29 pm   #43
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,181
I signed on on Jan 9 and got a confirmation that I was on their list, but haven't gotten anything since. I even checked my junk mail.
ClimbGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 09, 11:12 pm   #44
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Wirelessly posted (iPhone : Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

I'm with you fsuga, I didn't get that email either. I will keep watching.
needtofly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 09, 12:44 pm   #45
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CEG, United Kingdom.
Posts: 24
Question

Hello all,

There's now a link on their $1 promotion page (http://www.lastminutetravel.com/world-for-a-dollar.aspx)
to some more Terms and Conditions!!
Enjoy reading the terms & conditions? read them all here
But when you click the 'read them all here', it opens up an error page!
If anyone is able to see these T&C's could they please post the details here!!?

Thanks in advance,
Caroline
crd3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:41 am.




SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0