Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Loyalty Programs > Hilton | Hilton HHonors
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 6, 08, 2:55 pm   #1
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 34,762
Hampton Inn Internet Access with HHonors Number?

I was at a Hampton Inn in Florida this week; when I went to log in to the internet, you could enter the access code or enter your HHonors Number and Pin.

Has anyone else seen this?

Long time coming, I can't wait for this to be system wide, if it isn't already.

(I am at a Hilton tonight, and it is 9.95 for access)
__________________
Uncle Sam's FAVORITE Nephew
underpressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 08, 8:27 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CLT
Posts: 6,346
I saw that at Covington, KY this week too, but St Joseph, MO doesn't have it.
gj83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 08, 9:12 pm   #3
Moderator Travel News, Hawaii, the Hawaii-based Airlines, West & DiningBuzz
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: UA Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 29,442
Hampton Inn internet access has already been free for a long time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by underpressure View Post
Long time coming
cblaisd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 08, 9:17 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by cblaisd View Post
Hampton Inn internet access has already been free for a long time.
I think the point was that the OP could connect with their Hhonors # and pin rather than the code included in their key packet. That would be a welcome improvement in my book.
__________________
"It's alright to lose your heart, but never lose your head."
djk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 08, 11:08 pm   #5
Moderator Travel News, Hawaii, the Hawaii-based Airlines, West & DiningBuzz
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Programs: UA Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 29,442
Ah, okay. It would indeed. But I was confused, then, by the citation of the cost of internet at the Hilton. Sounded like he was making a comparison.

Last edited by cblaisd; Nov 6, 08 at 11:47 pm.
cblaisd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 08, 8:09 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 34,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by djk7 View Post
I think the point was that the OP could connect with their Hhonors # and pin rather than the code included in their key packet. That would be a welcome improvement in my book.
I thought I was pretty clear... thanks.
__________________
Uncle Sam's FAVORITE Nephew
underpressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 08, 8:15 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: MCO
Programs: DL DM,MM; AS; USeless Air, HHonors Diamond, Starwood Plat, Hyatt Gold
Posts: 564
I don't stay at too many Hamptons, but I've always been given a code on the key packet, including tonight at the Hampton in Port Charlotte, FL.
cbalaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 3:20 am   #8
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Bryn Mawr PA & Wailea HI
Posts: 15,734
I really see no or nil need for using hotel access codes. I really dont believe zillions of roaming wifi-ers crowd the hotel lobby leaching the hotels internet. The vast majority of hotels offering free wifi dont require access codes and their systems are far more trouble free. I think HI etc were sold a totally unnecessary and more complicated wifi system.

MisterNice
MisterNice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 5:41 am   #9
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SYR
Programs: US-Platnium, HH-Diamond, AVIS-Presidents Club
Posts: 2,485
I think its more than HI, its the entire Hilton Brands WiFi system. I stay at Hamptons, HGI, and ES, throughout the country, and 99% of them require a access code.

But your point is well taken. What is the point of the access code. Forget about crowding the lobbies, maybe its the parking lots? I know I try to find the nearest Panera Bread if I have to download a big attachment on a laptop while traveling. Thankfully Panera has no access codes.
bkafrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 7:18 am   #10
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 34,762
Whether or not to require them is a different discussion.

If they are going to have them; I would like just using my hhonors and pin number all of the time. too many times I get a handwritten access code that I have to call the front desk for. Too many times I get the code from last week.

I just like the idea of my HHonors Number and a Pin; and I hope this goes system wide.
__________________
Uncle Sam's FAVORITE Nephew
underpressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 7:59 am   #11
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: IAH
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by underpressure View Post
Whether or not to require them is a different discussion.

If they are going to have them; I would like just using my hhonors and pin number all of the time. too many times I get a handwritten access code that I have to call the front desk for. Too many times I get the code from last week.

I just like the idea of my HHonors Number and a Pin; and I hope this goes system wide.
Well I for one would prefer having the code in the key pocket, if there must be a code. I have no idea what my honors number is and do not generally carry it.

In all of my stays at Hamptons, HGIs, Homewood Suites, etc., I can't remember any that required a code. I did recently stay a Fairfield Inn, however, that required a code that was in the key pocket. I don't have my Marriott number memorized either, so the code thing worked better for me.
MarkMColo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 8:06 am   #12
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMColo View Post
Well I for one would prefer having the code in the key pocket, if there must be a code. I have no idea what my honors number is and do not generally carry it.

In all of my stays at Hamptons, HGIs, Homewood Suites, etc., I can't remember any that required a code. I did recently stay a Fairfield Inn, however, that required a code that was in the key pocket. I don't have my Marriott number memorized either, so the code thing worked better for me.
All of my Hampton and HGI stays over the last couple of years have required a code. I don't think they are going to stop using the codes, but are adding the option to use your hhonors #. Since many guests are not hhonors members, they will still have to supply a code.
__________________
"It's alright to lose your heart, but never lose your head."
djk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 08, 9:19 am   #13
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: UA 1K MM, DL Plat, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat, Nat'l Exec Elite
Posts: 16,611
I've never understood why Hamptons always require a code, but HGIs and Homewoods almost never do, yet the wi-fi is free at all locations of all three of those brands. Is there some roaming band of wi-fi stealers who target Hamptons and not other Hilton brands?

And over at Marriott, I've never needed a code for the free wi-fi at SpringHill, Residence Inn, Courtyard, or Fairfield.
ssullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 08, 4:51 am   #14
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SYR
Programs: US-Platnium, HH-Diamond, AVIS-Presidents Club
Posts: 2,485
Ironically, I'm staying at the Hampton in Orlando near Universal Studios. Just inputted the access code stamped on my card pocket, and it comes up as "expired". Evidently they expire their codes Saturday night, fresh for Sunday morning.

Is expiring them weekly typical?
bkafrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 08, 6:30 am   #15
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Programs: DL-Dirt Medallion;US-Cast Iron Preferred; HH-Gold; Avis First
Posts: 3,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkafrick View Post
Ironically, I'm staying at the Hampton in Orlando near Universal Studios. Just inputted the access code stamped on my card pocket, and it comes up as "expired". Evidently they expire their codes Saturday night, fresh for Sunday morning.

Is expiring them weekly typical?
Yes. When I've stayed at a Hampton over the weekend, the code has changed and I've had to get the new one.
__________________
"It's alright to lose your heart, but never lose your head."
djk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 3:03 am.