Search

New Years Eve Cologne

Search this Thread

Old Oct 24, 2011, 12:20 pm
Original Poster

Programs: FB GP
New Years Eve Cologne

Hey Guys,

I have a question, I'm fairly new to FT, been following the various threads/forums for a while though.

Every year my GF and I celebrate new years eve together, in a different country (not being our home country), I always arrange everything (hotel/flight etc.). However this year as new years is during the weekend and we both have a tight work schedule, I need to pick something closer to home.
I was looking at the following option at Cologne (Arriving on the 30th of december, departing 1st of january):

- Hyatt Club King with New Years Eve program (with view on the Dom & firework at Rhine)
- Hilton with New Year Dinner Dance (what room to pick?)
- Le Meridien Dom Hotel, view on the Dom and partly Rhine, no info yet received on NYE-program.

Does any of you can give me some suggestion on what to pick? Any experience on the hotels above on NYE?

With kind regards,
Norman
Old Oct 24, 2011, 1:44 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

rooms at LM >
104 204 304 = dom side corner "suite"
404 = dom suite

btw http://www.hotel-im-wasserturm.de/en/lavision.htm

there are five other 1 star and one 2 star in cologne
http://servicesv2.webmichelin.com/fr...mentCode=58344
Old Oct 25, 2011, 5:44 am

Programs: AA Gold 1MM
I agree with Kagehitokiri on the LM Dom Hotel. I have stayed there many times and the staff/location are hard to beat. With regard to the Hyatt, it is (imo) on the wrong side of the river in terms of shopping, dining and sightseeing. Having said that, it is precisely that "wrong" location that gives it the best views of the Dom.

Though I haven't stayed here, I have heard extraordinary things about this Hotel outside the city:

http://www.schlossbensberg.com/en/
Old Oct 25, 2011, 8:47 am

Programs: UA 1K, Bonvoy LTTE, HH Dia, HY Expl