Community
Wiki Posts
Search

is 19th arrondissement to far to stay in paris

Search this Thread

Old Jan 18, 2016, 6:01 pm
Original Poster

been told to stay closer as its my first time in paris but can get holiday inn in the 19th arrondissement on points , is it really to far away from the sites in paris to stay ? we will be in paris for 3 nights ,seems from reading the subway are great to get around , would it take to long on transportation to get around if we stayed in the 19 th
Old Jan 18, 2016, 7:59 pm

Programs: BAEC Silver, SPG Gold

Really it's personal preference - I'd check on google maps the transit time to/from the sites you are interested in and see if that's acceptable to you. You don't want to spend all your time commuting and changing metro lines IMO. I tend to place clients closer to the major sites so they can easily walk along the Seine for a feel of the city rather than spend a lot of time on the metro.
Old Jan 18, 2016, 8:45 pm

Programs: QFF Gold, Flying Blue, Enrich
The metro is great to get around. I have friends who live in the 19th, by metro stations Ourcq and Jaures, not far from your Holiday Inn. When I'm in Paris I stay in the centre, but it's no problem at all getting out to this area to spend an evening with my friends. The canal is lovely and very busy, lots to look at and you'll be surrounded by Parisians, not other foreigners.

The metro runs frequently, even late at night on this line you wouldn't wait more than about seven minutes between services and from your line, Number 5 Bobigny/Place d'Italie, you can get to central areas such as République or Bastille without changing lines. Lots of other metro options too if you find them more convenient.

It's a great area, less touristic than the centre, a bit edgy but not at all scary. If you've got a good deal with points go for it. And one of my favourite restaurants is nearby, Au Boeuf Couronné, great French traditional place, but not if you're vegetarian!
Old Jan 18, 2016, 11:11 pm