Wiki Posts
Search

Uber in Miami

Search this Thread

Old Jan 15, 2016, 7:35 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Platinum, HH Gold.
Uber in Miami

I'm traveling to Miami tomorrow and some kind soul has recommended I use Uber to get about.

As I've never used Uber before I have a couple of questions.

1. If I use Uber to get from the airport to the hotel where should I go for pickup?

2. What about tips? From what I can gather Uber charges the ride to my cc. Can I add gratuity or should I tip the driver with cash? Should the tip be similar to what I'd give a cab driver?

Thanks for any replies.
Old Jan 15, 2016, 7:51 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I'd ask in the Miami forum for where to be picked up, or if it's even legal in Miami for Uber to pick you up. I think the app or Uber website can also help. Happy to move this thread there if you'd like, to avoid cross posting.

You're not required to tip Uber drivers, and there is active debate as to whether you should. Uber takes I think 20-30% of the fare as its commission. I generally don't tip unless the driver goes out of his/her way to accommodate some odd request or otherwise do something above and beyond.
Old Jan 15, 2016, 5:49 pm
Moderator: Information Desk, Women Travelers, FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Gold
Re. tipping: I believe it also depends on the type of Uber you use. I never tip on UberX, which is the service where you're driving someone's personal car. But I do believe that the category of Uber that simply hails a cab for you does include gratuity.
Old Jan 16, 2016, 6:26 am
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges and Environmentally Friendly Travel

This thread has been moved to the Florida destination forum.

Prospero
Senior Moderator
Old Jan 16, 2016, 6:38 am

Programs: Still working on being loyal
Uber and Lyft work in Miami, Lyft was recently giving great incentives to use their service.

Here is an uber invite code 2dfqt if you'd like